Getting to the end...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
January 19th 2011
Published: January 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I've been living in Dresden for 5 months now, and it's hard to believe that I'm only going to be here for one more week. I've really enjoyed my time here and living in a place with so much culture, I'm trying to fit as much as possible into the last days, and see friends as much as possible before I leave.
I took a lot of pictures over the last weekend, even though the weather was unfortunately pretty bad. I went to the Grosser Garten, which I had already visited when i first came here (in summer) so the contrast between the warm summer with beautiful sun and flowers was pretty strong to cold snow and rain with mostly all of the plants dead. However, the sun did come out for a minute and I was able to get some good pictures of the palace in the middle of the garden. The weather on sunday was surprisingly beautiful, and I took the opportunity to go into the Altstadt and get some final pictures of the Frauenkirche and other historical buildings. It was such a nice day (and actually relatively warm for the first time in about 3 months) that there were a lot of people also walking around the Altstadt, and the timing was great I was on the other side of the river right as the sun was going down. I also took a walk in the huge forest here that's actually more on the level of a national park because of the size. I had also been there a couple times before, but it was really quiet and peaceful and i tried to get some pictures even though it wasn't an optimal time.
I haven't been able to see as much as I've liked this past week because I have had so much to do before I move back, but today was a nice break. Last week me and my class went to tour one of the best art galleries, the "old masters" and today we got to see the "new masters" which i really enjoyed. I like seeing the more recent development of art than the paintings from centuries ago. It's really lucky too, my teacher, who already is my favorite teacher, happens to have majored in art history so he was able to give us really in-depth private tours of both galleries. Today he got a little carried away and we spent over an hour longer in the museum than we had planned, but it was worth it. I wasn't allowed to take pictures, but my favorite artist was Gerhard Richter. Here is website: http://www.gerhard-richter.com/

This weekend I'll be traveling to Berlin, so that will be another good experience to enjoy germany before I leave and also see some more great art. There will be another blog soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



20th January 2011

I love the pictures. I'll have to see the rest from when you went in the woods.
21st January 2011

Wow, how time flies!!
Mia, We can't believe you're ready to finish up in Dresden. We have really enjoyed sharing your time there on your blog. Love, Grandpa & Grandma Yakel

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb