I'm REALLLLYYYY done with schnitzel now...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
June 21st 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! I finally made it to Deutschland =) Dresden is absolutely GORGEOUS, and highly under-rated. I’m posting this late because I don’t have internet access, however have found that cafes in the basements of mini-malls make for great writing spots (plus im waiting for my sushi.. thought I’d be brave after that Czech fish fiasco..lol).
I found out the hard way that when folks say “backpacking through Europe” they really did mean that LITERALLY, thus packing light (even for me) means next to nothing, because you DO have to lug it all around. Thankfully my duffle bag (that weighs god knows how much) can be flung around me shoulders for easy walking, however I think I may look like the hunchback of Notre Dame by the time I actually get to Notre Dame!
I met a nice couple from Kansas on my train today—they were with their daughter and her husband and his friend (two younger guys from Toronto). The daughter/husband live in Berlin thus they were taking a family trip. We ended up doing lunch together on the train (with company of their adorable French bull dog named Charlotte..who snorted almost as much as Cocoa with a cold). While lunch-ing, we just so happened to run into the Turkish soccer team (who won an amazing game last night). They were rather nice and ended up explaining how to play to a few older American guys who ‘didn’t get that European sport’ hahah..
Brussels bright and early!!
<3



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb