Farewell to Halle


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Hallumination 16 secs
Gone FishingGone FishingGone Fishing

Curtain call after the realistic Argentinian play production, La Pesca, features a three-storey set of corrugates metal with water pond into which one character eventually disappears...
5-7 July:
AN OPERATIC PLAY about Joan of Arc with full orchestral complement set in St. Marien cathedral; a Dr. Marcuse horror show interpreted by a dance troupe in two-dimensional fashion behind a black-and-white screen to a constant underlying droning sound. One earns ten minutes of applause, the other yawns and walk-outs. This is the nature of the performing arts during this Theater der Welt festival -- so varied, so unpredictable. Then a rather conventional play with corner staging -- audience on two sides -- three men fishing (not an exciting premise to start with) in an abandoned underground shaft (that's better), the dialogue full of allusions to Argentina's political past. Sunday's finale is a collage of graphic arts and photos projected onto two buildings at University Square, various visiting multi-media artists capturing Halle's theatre history in sight and sound. The ambience of a warm July night, perhaps a thousand people standing shoulder to shoulder in the darkness sharing the final moment of this 18-day festival, is something to behold... and to feel. The subdued lights of sidewalk cafés in the street below the plaza illuminate the edge as of a stage, and at one point three illuminated rice paper balloon
HalluminationHalluminationHallumination

features photos and graphic arts projected on surrounding buildings, accompanied by amplified narration.
lanterns cross overhead in the night sky.

8 July
WITH MIXED EMOTIONS I say farewell to my new-found friends in Halle. When they ask me whether or not I'm sad to leave, I answer, "Not sad, because I am still travelling, knowing that I must return home. I will probably only know how I feel about this place after I have arrived back there." When I keep emphasizing that this city has welcomed me with openness, I am referring of course to its people, especially those working long hours for the theatre festival who never tired to advise me, and the four confidantes with whom I spent hours talking about life's challenges and our dreams for the future, as much as we could searchingly determine what those might be. Thank you, all. You are the kind of people I wish to have around me, to meet often, just to continue those talks, and to see what direction your lives may take.



Advertisement



10th July 2008

Hey, such a great trip, Heldor! I am enjoying every minute of it as I am on my hands and knees removing old carpet underlays and 25 years of dust and dirt from my tenants apt. in Toronto. Hope to have it all done soon but no guarantees. Looking forward to my next virtual trip with you. Love. J.

Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb