Christmas Markets


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Wendelsheim
December 21st 2008
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

it doesn't quite fitit doesn't quite fitit doesn't quite fit

but you get the idea
So today I am officially tired of Christmas markets. I know I sound spoiled but there is only so much walking and stopping a man can take!
I would, however, recommend that you attend one should you go to Germany. Once.
They have neat trinkets, food that includes potato pancake puffs, and Schocko kuss.
The favorite is a spice wine called Gluehwein.
Not much to report. Weidesheim is in the middle of the Palantine region and is the most famous region in Germany for wine.
One funny thing did happen. I am a fan of chatting up Americans, as I don't see too many civilian americans in Mannheim. I love chatting about football or just keeping it brief and speaking a quick bit of English. I don't get to use it a lot.
I said hello, excuse me to a family. They were in fact Americans but when I asked where they were from, they got weirded out and walked away quickly. I suppose if you are on vacation as they probably were, the last thing they want to see is a goofy American in a bright red Red Sox jacket!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

stay away from this man!stay away from this man!
stay away from this man!

he might try and talk English to you.
hard workhard work
hard work

this is what you get to do when you don't know how to drive a standard.
wine countrywine country
wine country

I will hope to return here and enjoy some of the fine Riesling.
Zeynep's cousins.Zeynep's cousins.
Zeynep's cousins.

This was the place to be!
Kartoffel PufferKartoffel Puffer
Kartoffel Puffer

Kind of like a latka but fattier.
stuff not to buy mestuff not to buy me
stuff not to buy me

stuff you can find at a Christmasmarkt.
Hot spotHot spot
Hot spot

People have one of these in most cities.
Give me a monkey...Give me a monkey...
Give me a monkey...

and I will be even happier!
duskdusk
dusk

Christmasmarkt stays open until 9pm.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb