busy busy, my bad


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry guys, been pretty busy recently trying to get me a job! and i havent yet, but i am really hoping i get one tomorrow!
I have a job interview! and its going to be an interesting one, because the person that called me for the interview, doesnt speak english, my german, is still a little above non existent, though getting better everyday!
So what is the job? well its my lifelong dream! sort of, lol, its to be a truck driver, i have no idea what the goods are, or what sort of truck it is, but the fact that the phone call took 5 minutes of non understanding banter to get me to an interview on monday morning, and the caller didnt hang up, gives me a little bit of hope, especially as part of the job decription says that english would be an advantage... i am mildly confident that my english speaking skills are up to date, even if my accent may be a little hard for them to understand, i just speak slower and sound silly, lol, which i have done a bit,
So, other than the interview looming, what else has been going on?
Well, i am currently doing an intensive german course, that cost a fortune but i should be getting it all paid back by the german Centrelink equivalent. if not, then i am a tiny bit fucked, unless i get this job, then all will be good. can someone back home sort out the aussie dollar and at least get it back to where it was a montha nd a half ago when i got here, it has jumped from 1.60 per euro, to the now wonderful 2 bucks per euro, well 1.90ish but it got close the other day, and i tell you what, that is a killer. but im ok, i got enough to get to christmas before im on a plane home to get some more cash.. but i dont want to do that,
Nadine and i are great, its been nearly 2 months, or about 6 weeks i think at the moment, and we havent had an arguement, she's helped me out so much with getting all my paperwork and stuff sorted out so i can live here, and work here, and we cook some great food together! i've put a bunch of photo's up on facebook, well about 20, but if you dont have facebook let me know and i'll put them up on here too!
On the german course i have met an american bloke who is pretty cool, and it so happens that my favourite pub here, an irish pub, happens to be the local hangout for all the americans in the area, the yanks have a heap of army bases all over germany, so there are heaps of them, and so on friday night after german class me and the yank, (brent) went to the pub, to enjoy the end of the week, then about 6 hours later i emerged, with a bunch of new mates, all of who i cant remember, but it is nice to know, that there is an english speaking "community" here in trier, and its nice to get out and have a good night out, cos beleive it or not, most nights im having quiet nights in, with a movie or top gear (nadine is not overly impressed with all the top gear you gsave me davis, lol, but i have now watched them all and just downloading season 2 and 4! yay for davis! ) its weird, but i seem to have settled down into a nice rhythm here with nadine, and we are going out on the weekend to have some social fun, but otherwise we're cooking some really cool meals! and my guitar playing is getting better, maybe in 10 years i'll be able to play a song, but we have 2 guitars, a free tv we found in the attic, though i must say, the simpsons in german, is hilarious.. i know the episodes, but no idea what they are saying, and it is an absilute hoot to watch! 😊
my spelling hasnt improved much on here mum, sorry about that! but i will call you this week again and let you know how the interview went!

and also, for anyone who wants me to call, email me your home number, as i can call landlines in australia for nothing, as long as i want! so just send me your number! and tell me when your going to be home, otherwise it'll be a lovely convo with your mum. lol,


thats about it from me for now!
i'll u[pdate you on the job getting and hunting as soon as i know!

and my love to you all!!\

Benny

Advertisement



26th October 2008

tsk tsk
jeez ben, what do you think you are doing? its almost as if you are enjoying yourself over there. im pretty sure thats not permitted. :)

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb