Miserable Moo in Munich


Advertisement
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kaiserslautern to Munich to Frankfurt

Train all the way

Me and my packMe and my packMe and my pack

Do i look like a backpacker???
15th June Thursday The boys gave me their numbers and left for Munich on the train. I wasn’t sure what was the cheapest way to get there so I waited for Rowdy and Simon to investigate our options. The man that worked at FanCamp insisted I get a photo with him (!!!) and we headed to the trains. It ended up that train was actually our only option so we got a 5 day pass and we were on our way. When we arrived we met up with some of Rowdy’s mates and found some accommodation at 4You. It was complete luxury for me with our own bathroom. We checked out the main street and later on Rowdy and I got to properly catch up, although I think I talked his ears off.

16th June Friday We moved into a cheaper room with only 2 beds so someone would be on the floor. I texted the boys to meet us later on a pub crawl and while Rowdy did his own thing I hung out with his mates on a free tour of Munich. Apparently Germany is the European country with the most borders. The beer house Hofbrauhaus was crazy
Me and the guy that worked at Fan CampMe and the guy that worked at Fan CampMe and the guy that worked at Fan Camp

He was a little too friendly...
and they even have lockers for the beer steins. The Glockenspiel was pretty boring but we saw things on the tour that I wouldn’t normally have noticed so we tipped him at the end. Apparently only a few of the buildings survived WWII so the city was rebuilt to be exactly like it was prior. And it is a very beautiful city. After the tour Simon and I headed back and we had a really cool chat, and when Rowdy came back we rock, scissor, papered and Rowdy was the lucky one to win sleeping on the floor (unless of course one of us picked up!!!)

So we get to the pub crawl and the boys are a little late but still join in, escaping the fee!!! We started with a few beers and shots, then Rowdy’s drinking game ‘cup of death’ before moving onto the biggest inner city beer garden in the world where I enjoyed my first 1Liter stein of beer, which was absolute liquid gold. At the next beer garden it was time for another stein and I stole a huge pretzel by somehow hiding it in Simons back pocket. We all started chanting and dancing on the tables, Aussie song after Aussie song; absolute magic that I will never forget. On the tram back the whole carriage was overrun with us Aussies and somehow Simon and I started to hold hands. When we got back we headed to Euro hotel where the after pub crawl party was. After a sneaky pash with Simon we decided to head to the clubin district, so Simon and I, Rowdy and Jaz jumped in a cab and I thought all the other boys would be in one behind us but turns out they never followed. The clubbing district is an old industrial area that has been converted into about 40 clubs catering to all sorts of music tastes. After losing Rowdy the three of us check out a few places but end up in the boomerang bar. We get a cab back later, say bye to Jaz and Simon and I have another drink where we have a very freaky drunk German guy talking to me. We tell him were on our honeymoon, and then proceed to try and sneak in a strip club. After they refuse to let us in for free we go back to our room
What the???What the???What the???

I like this kind of advertising...
and I have a quick dance on the balcony. We get a few more pashes in before Rowdy comes back.

17th June Saturday An absolute right off day. When we got up sometime after lunch and Rowdy and I checked out the shops. I need to add here how environmentally conscious the Germans are, I love it. Anyways the Marianplatz was going nuts with Brazilians and their drums and the Aussies were even up on some monument singing and waving their flags around, even though we were severely out numbered. It was the only way we could be seen in a sea of green and fluro yellow. It was later that night when I went back to the clubbin district with Rowdy and his mates that I started to feel like a third wheel and that I wasn’t really welcome. It was even more shit as Simon was completely ignoring me, as though I wasn’t even there. I really started to miss my Adelaide boys as they never made me feel like that; a crappy night.

18th June Sunday AUSTRALIA V’S BRAZIL I woke up with butterflies in my stomach so breakfast was very difficult. We checked out, put our bags in storage as we planned on partying the night away so we wouldn’t have to worry about accommodation (and there was none available). We headed to Rowdy’s mates place and buggered around there for ages. I am wearing my Australia hat, singlet, boxer shorts, tats, flag and sweat band. No gold on me at all as I didn’t wanna look like I was supporting Brazil. Blue all the way today. I was pretty pumped but the guys were bringing me down as they weren’t listening to me. On the way down to marianplatz I was telling the guys which way we needed to go but I was ignored. Eventually they figure it out (which was the way I was telling them) and we get to the stadium where they mindlessly walked around deciding whether they were going to get tickets to the game. We eventually go to the big screen and I realised that I wasn’t having any fun, constantly getting the shits. They kept taking off on me and doing everything to not include me, such as getting me to take photos of them, without any of me, getting beers for each other and not getting any for me. I also kept sliding down the hill as i was slipping in my boxers!!! We watch Japan and Croatia draw (making it harder for the Aussies) and I wanted to go find the boys but I was afraid I would end up on my own, which I didn’t want today. The spot we sat in was shit and no one was even chanting. It was nil all at half time and the Aussies were playing great I thought. We played well in the second half also but couldn’t put any away. In the end Brazil put 2 away but I hung my head up high as I was still proud of the boys. We went straight back to the city and Rowdy's mates took off. We get some Vodka and something to eat before going back to his mates place. I texted the boys again and was waiting for them to tell me where they were. We sit around drinking and I was again left out. The vodka I was drinking was very strong, emotions were all over the place and I sung both verses of the anthem out their balcony window to some guy on the
Yes thats rightYes thats rightYes thats right

parking for your dog
other side. They had then decided to go downstairs to the pub and as the Adelaide boys hadn’t texted back I just figured I would go down and meet Rowdy down there. I grab a beer and next thing Rowdy comes down yelling “we’re streaking” with him and his mates running out the pub. So I figure that they will be back and proceed to drink my beer with some random next to me. A fair amount of time passes and I am getting drunker and drunker. Rowdy doesn’t come back and I even use some randoms phone to again text Zedz. I figured Rowdy and his mates had left me to go and pick up. The rest of the night is a little blurry but I can tell you that I went in search of the Adelaide boys hostel, I have a cry, and end up going to the train station and sleeping on the concrete, next to some other random, sharing their plastic bag full of clothes as a pillow. I put my hat over my head and use my flag to cover me. I pass out.

I wake up sometime later with the person rustling his plastic bag. He was leaving and I now had no pillow. I go back to Rowdy’s mates hostel and go to knock on the door and I hear all sorts of voices including a couple of girls. I stand there contemplating whether to knock or not. After deciding not to I roam the streets again trying to find the boys and then headed back to the train station, but this time I got woken up by a worker telling me I couldn’t sleep there. A Brazilian in the street wanted a photo of me all dressed up and she told me we played well, thanks! I went on the net as I literally felt homeless and didnt know where else to go. I then had to go back to grab Rowdy as our bags were locked up together and I wanted to get mine to now head to Stuttgart. On our way to the hostel I saw Clackers and I told him I would meet all the boys back there in an hour. So Rowdy and I get our bags, sneak in a free breakfast and we say bye. He was heading to meet a girl who was getting him
Aussies ontop of the monumentAussies ontop of the monumentAussies ontop of the monument

the only way to be seen and heard in a sea of Brazilians
a ticket to the next game. I waited for the boys to show up and I was so glad to see them all again. They were pissed at me for dogging them and I was pissed at myself too. So we get the next train to Frankfurt as Ketz and Jaz were flying back to London. I tagged along with them but didn’t at all feel like I was tagging along. It had only been 2 days but I had missed the boys as I heard about all the mischief they got up too. So we hang at the airport, then the boys realise they are at the wrong one! Lucky they had plenty of time, so we say bye and Zedz, Clackers and I head into town; get a bum steer on the Fan camp. We eventually find it after sweating our butts off. We hung out in town watching more soccer under a tree trying not to get wet, and then muck around on a Ferris wheel. The canvas bed was actually comfortable, I guess anything seems good compared to a cold hard concrete train station!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Get your flagsGet your flags
Get your flags

I think i got the last Aussie one
Moo with her massive beerMoo with her massive beer
Moo with her massive beer

1Litre ot be exact. Copyright Zedz
Boys gettin on itBoys gettin on it
Boys gettin on it

Copyright Zedz
Group photoGroup photo
Group photo

Copyright Zedz
Rowdy and SimonRowdy and Simon
Rowdy and Simon

Copyright Rowdy
Moo being MooMoo being Moo
Moo being Moo

Copyright Rowdy
2 hunk a spunks2 hunk a spunks
2 hunk a spunks

Simon and Jaz. Copyright Rowdy


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 21; qc: 102; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb