Waterpark!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Bitburg
June 5th 2010
Published: April 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, June 5th:

Today was going to be a hot day! My mom, dad and uncle were going to take Margit home that morning, so, my aunt and I gathered the girls up and went to the local waterpark. I had fond memories of going to the pool with my grandparents, when I was little. They swam every day, rain or shine, in the huge Olympic sized pool. Recently, the city renovated the pool and made it a waterpark, both inside and out! It was completely unrecognizable from the memories of my youth! There were a total of four pools, three outside and a huge one inside. One of the outdoor pools had three levels of diving boards, and the girls wanted to go on the middle one so bad, but kept getting scared! By then Maxi had joined us, and he was scared too! The other outdoor pool had a big wide slide where multiple people could go down at once, and they had a lot of fun on that! There was also a huge octopus that you could grab on to and float with.

The inside pool had a massive waterslide that took you three stories up and when you went down, you went through complete darkness through a tunnel to the bottom…that was really fun (yes, I tried it too). It also had a really tall, but wide, slide that shot you down to the bottom, into the actual pool. I took several pictures of all of the girls and Maxi, in the middle, going down it. I even went myself with Kenya…quite exhilarating! The rest of the time there, I spent sunning myself and reading a book…it was so nice!! Kenya had a blast with the girls and Maxi!! I know she wants to come back soon!

We walked back home, and it seemed to take forever! It was quite warm out, so we stopped at the local gelateria and had some gelato…that was a great reprieve!  Whew! Kenya wanted to show the girls how to play “ding dong ditch”, but I wouldn’t let her! LOL It was waaaay too hot to try and run away!

Later in the afternoon, both of my uncles got out a huge tarp, and laid it out for a huge slip-n-slide!! They even used dish soap to make it more slippery!! It was so fun to sit around and watch them! My uncle even gave it a go! Me, I would have probably fallen and broken an arm or something…didn’t want to do that since we were scheduled to go to Paris on Tuesday! Again, it was just so nice to sit around and visit and watch the kids have a blast!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb