Looking for all the "EST"


Advertisement
Published: August 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Looking for all the "EST"



Bump the boat jars against the dock. It’s 6am and the assistant Captain to the ASSISTANT Captain is at the wheel. Everyone has to learn to park the boat sometime. It just happens to be today. I roll out of bed and make my way to my breakfast spot in the front of the boat. Good morning Mr. Vaughan, dids you’s like jour vakeup call? Ya Ya Ya

We all are laughing as he’s pouring me cup of coffee and the boat lurches again.

Kirsten joins me and we have a nice quite breakfast after the boat was finally tied up.

After breakfast we stroll off the boat and into town. Bernkastel is a cute village on the Mosel River. Its village square is surrounded with half-timber houses clustered together like a grapes hanging on the vine. We were told to find the “Pointed House”. What! They all look the same. So off we go strolling through Bernkastel like Hansel and Gretel. Me, I’m looking for a café to get a cappuccino, Kirsten’s leaving breadcrumbs as we wind through the narrow streets and alleys. Why… I thought you wanted to stay longer. I do but this is fun look the birds are following us. Yeah!

Ok, the village is small and is totally surrounded by vineyards. We even strolled through the graveyard. We still haven’t found the Pointed House I’m ok with that. I can lie, did you find it…. Oh Yea! I found it, it’s pointy.

Well, were walking back into the village square; I turn right and see a café, I turn back to motion to Kirsten that I’m going to the café. There it is the Pointy House. For real, Kirsten is looking at me asking what are you starring at, she turns and gasp! It’s the Pointy House. Yep we found it. Finally, I can have a cappuccino. By the way, it’s extremely pointy.

We get back on the boat around 11 am and start sailing toward Trier. Around 2 pm, we pull up to the side of the river. No villages, No lock, just the side of the river with 2 Viking River boat buses. We’re herded off the boat on to the bus. Me, I standing there holding my beer asking is this what happens to immigrants? Ok, no one thought that was funny except me.

We take the bus over the hill, down the vineyards and through the valley to grandma house we go. Actually were going to Trier!

Trier the oldest city in Germany. Ok, I have to take a moment and point out that Germany is known for it’s “EST” syndrome. Everything in Germany is EST, Fastest, Tallest, Largest, Slickest, Best, get it.

So Trier is the oldest city. They can prove it they have a roman ruin dates back to AD 100.

The bus tour takes us through Trier; we see their amphitheater, oldest Christian cathedral north of the Alps (And I thought the Baptists were old), Constantine’s Basilica (the guy who assembled the bible we know today) and finally the Black Gate.

The tour was great; I enjoyed it Kirsten however kept wondering off. Oh one last item Karl Marx was born in Trier. After the tour, we had free time; well I found 3 different beer gardens and visited each of them.

We Face timed Omi/Opa while sitting at one of the beer gardens, everyone was doing well. Isn’t technology cool!

We made our way back to the boat by 6 pm; the crew was waiting for us with a Welcome Back Home sign. It was pretty cool.

We freshened up for dinner and made our way to the lounge before dinner. Claudia was telling everyone how the deportation process worked. Talk about herding cats, some of these folks are clueless.

Around 7 PM, we made our way to the dining room and had another fabulous meal; I had a butterfish covered in olive tapenade with pasta on the side. Kirsten had veal with a mushroom sauce, did I mention the two bottles of wine we drank.

After dinner.... we took a walk along the river. About half an hour into our walk, my phone is ringing. It’s Caroline Face timing me. Is Aunt Kisty there, No, I thought she was with you Caroline? I get this smirk look. I want to talk to aunt Kisty, it’s important.

Kirsten takes my phone, Yes Caroline what can I help you with. I know this is your last night on the boat and your going to Paris tomorrow. You remember what we discussed don’t you aunt Kisty. Yes, Caroline I remember and I will try to find it.

Thank you, good night Aunt Kisty and Uncle Stevie.

Good night Caroline, What was that all about? I’ll tell you latter.

Now I just want to enjoy our last night on the boat with you and a glass of wine.

Yeah!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.454s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb