Rebel without a clue (aka Ouch Pt. 2)


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Winterberg
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chillin' in WinterbergChillin' in WinterbergChillin' in Winterberg

Check out how you say 'crappy t-bar lift that Brian can fall off of' in German
I made one rule for myself for my ski trip to Germany: don't try anything stupid.

But much like bones, rules are meant to be broken.

Fortunately, my one foray into snoboard hotdogging ended without any serious injury and much like Lindsey Jacobellis' silver medal boardcross run: humiliating, but surmountable with enough BS and the whole "yeah, well I don't see you trying it" factor. There was a split second of a "My knee hurts and I want my mommy" moment when I thought I tore something, but after a few minutes of Peter Griffin pain management, I was able to finish the run and make it down to the bottom of the mountain. It's now late on Tuesday and the limp's almost gone. Whew.

Otherwise, the trip was awesome. I got to see some amazing snow-covered landscapes along the German autobahn and among the hills of Winterberg, stay at cozy 4-star hotel with amazing service and walnut icecream for dirt cheap, and experience the shame and failure/awesomeness of falling down on a t-bar lift, refusing to let go, and then overcoming all forces of gravity and friction to pull myself back up to complete the tow up the
DeterminationDeterminationDetermination

Even a busted knee couldn't stop this laid-out and camera-happy fool from snapping a picture of the awesome scenery.
mountain. (This is a gentle appeal for more chairlifts at Winterberg).

Props to Shruti and Nick for driving while Adam and I slept like babies in the back seat both coming and going. Extra props to Shruti for not dying after whacking her head on the road after doing a Charlie Brown football kick on an ice patch in the middle of town, scattering all possessions across the street, and stopping traffic in both directions. And while I'm dishing out props, here's to Germans for simultaneously giving David Hasselhof a musical career and Norm MacDonald a large percentage of his Weekend Update laughs.

PICS






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

More SnowMore Snow
More Snow

Check out the view from my hotel room. Cool huh? Maybe not, but the amusement I get from seeing snow is inexplicable.
Gearing upGearing up
Gearing up

Can't blame Nick for not paying attention to the picture...it was frickin' freezing out there! Gloves first, smiles later.
Nick, Shruti, y yoNick, Shruti, y yo
Nick, Shruti, y yo

Still smiling 'cause we haven't gotten started and nobody's fallen down yet.


12th April 2006

Next is my turn!!!!
Will be going to the Shell campus in Rijswijk early June for the first time. Spring should be fine with the weather, but is there anything like 'slooowww spring'?. Cant take the cold. Nice writings anyway dude! www.rushmooradt.blogspot.com

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb