WERNE: Week 2 Teaching


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Werne
May 9th 2014
Published: May 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Week 2-

This week of student teaching has flown by. It's hard to believe I only have three days of student teaching left at AFG after the weekend. It's been a blast and the students have been great. There has never been a moment since I have gotten to Werne were I ever felt alone. Everyone here has been so helpful! The teachers, my host family, and even the students have been super helpful throughout this whole experience. Words cannot express how thankful I am for all the help and support shown by those who have taught me so much along the way. I am so thankful to have been blessed with an opportunity like this and have enjoyed every minute since I have been here.

This week I have taught about everything from Shakespeare to the Potsdam Conference. And in my opinion, the students really enjoy it! It was a really unique situation teaching about the Potsdam Conference, the conference between Winston Churchill, Harry Truman, and Joseph Stalin to decide the fate of Germany following WWII. Although it was a difficult topic to discuss, I believe the lesson went really well. Typically the teacher of this class teaches completely in German so it was really a great experience for students to work on their English skills by listening and responding to questions only in English. Mr. Linz and his students really enjoyed the lesson. The students were even more interested in the topic once I was able to inform them that I had been to Cecilianhof, where the conference took place, only a week prior when I was in Berlin. I thought it would be a good idea to bring in some of the postcards I bought in Potsdam to show the students. They all seemed to enjoy it and liked the fact that I had actually been to the exact place which they were learning about. Experiences like these are the things I hope to share in my own classroom one day. In my opinion a great teacher is someone who makes history and learning fun, but an even cooler teacher is the one who has actually been to the places they are teaching about.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb