WERNE: Learning About Werne


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Werne
April 30th 2014
Published: May 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday-My first Wednesday at AFG was a very, very long day. I began the school day in Mrs. Eckert's 7th grade geography class in which we discussed the over usage of natural resources. The students did a good job of communicating their understanding of the content in both English and German. I have been blow away by some of the great, higher level responses that have been given by many of the students here at the school. After the geography class I had an 11th grade English class with Mrs. Eckert. I enjoyed this class for many reasons but the primary reason why I enjoyed it was due to the fact that Christian, my host bother, is a student in the class. After this class I had my first history class here at AFG with Mr. Linz. Being in Mr. Linz class was certainly a unique situation. What made Mr. Linz class so unique was the fact that he was teaching about the conclusion of WWII but he was teaching the lesson completely in German. I was really glad to be in the classroom and I was really interested in the content but I had no clue what he was saying while he was teaching. Although I had no clue what he Nd the students were saying I still liked the time I spent in the classroom. Not being able to understand what was being said required me to focus more on class behavior and other nonverbal characteristics of the classroom. At the end of the class period Mr. Linz informed me that he would like for me to teach about the Potsdam Conference in class the following week. I agreed to do so and look forward to teaching about the conference due to the fact I actually visited Cecilienhof, where the conference took place, while I was visiting Potsdam a few weeks ago.

This weekend myself and four of the other student teachers will be traveling to Bavaria right after school to spend the night in Kempten, which is supposedly the oldest town in Germany. After that we will be spending 2 days in Fussen (hiking in the Alps, visiting castles, and going to Austria) and then we will spend 2 more days in Munich before returning home Sunday night. Even though it would be good to document everything I get to do on this long weekend, I think I would rather enjoy every moment I have in Bavaria instead of fooling with writing about everything I get to do in a blog post. Instead of writing about everything I will just post pictures.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb