WERNE: Just Arriving


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Werne
April 28th 2014
Published: May 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sunday-
The trip from Berlin to Werne was certainly a long and tiring one. To pass some time on the train ride Heike and I talked about everything from the Berlin Wall to classic country music. The time the two of us were able to spend with each other on the train was a great experience and very insightful into the perspective of a west German growing up in the time of the wall. Our conversation showed me how special the reunification of the country was for everyone.

As the time grew shorter and shorter until we were to reach our destination I began to feel more and more anxious about meeting my host family. Questions rushed through my head about whether or not they would like me, if I would be an inconvenience, and many more worries. By the time we reached the train station in Werne my stomach was in knots. I didn't know what to do. I didn't know what to expect. I feared for the worst but prayed for the best. Luckily for me my prayers were answered. At the train station I was met and picked up by my host dad (Carsten) and my host brother (Christian). The two of them were so nice and helpful. I knew from that point on that I was in good hands. When we made it home the two of them helped me with my luggage. When we reached the door I was greeted by my host mom (Margret)! They were all very welcoming and I immediately felt that I was at home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb