Fun Filled Week in Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Stockum
June 22nd 2012
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What a wonderful 1st week back in Stockum. I've had a great time with family and friends. It is kind of amazing how many friends I still have around here even 10 years after I lived here. Here are some of the weeks highlights ;-)

Monday I went for a walk around Stockum with my friend Nina and her new 9 month old baby Maja. =) She was soooo adorable. It was great to catch up with Nina. We took the shorter walk as rain was threatening, although it did not appear.

Tuesday afternoon I met up with Juli and her husband Christian. We went into Sundern for ice cream. MMMMMM... straweberrry cup. I love it. =) I really I'm going to miss the ice cream. It was fun just hanging out with them. In the evening we drove to Arnsberg to visit Sonja und Claudio. We enjoyed pizza, a soccer game and each other's company. =) A great evening with friends. =)

Wednesday, I spent a nice long afternoon shopping in Dortmund with Oma and Mama. =) They were looking for graduation gifts for Maike and Franzi, I just tagged along. =) Was a wonderful afternoon just us ladies.

Thursday, I went for a long (2 hour) walk with my Oma (grandma). It was such a wonderful walk. As we walked along, Oma was telling me all about the different plants the grow here and their herbal or medicinal properties. She was telling me about the history of the area and was pointing out the different villages along the way. I was kicking myself in the butt the whole way for forgetting my camera. What beautiful picuters of this area they would have been! It was so interesting to listen to Oma talk about Stockum. So much history here! The earliest document found referring to Stockum is from 976. That means Stockum is over 1,000 years old! I just find that incredible! The church was built in the 1200s. Aside from all that I learned of Stockum, it was also simply wonderful to spend this time with Oma. =)

Friday, Juli had the afternoon off, so we went to the Sorpesee (the local lake) for lunch. Afterwards we started to go for a walk, despite it being incredibly windy. Unfortunately, the walk was interrupted by rain... imagine that. Rain in Sauerland. lol.. I laugh because
Thomas and MeThomas and MeThomas and Me

he bought me a nice Stockum baseball cap. =) Very nice of him =)
it's rained almost everyday this week. We hung out at her place instead. =) That evening I joined my friend Thomas and others at the public viewing of the Germany vs. Greece soccer game in Dörnholthausen (the neighboring village, officially a part of Stockum). I saw other friends there which was great. =) Germany also won, which made for a fun night. =) It was an excellent way to wrap up the week. Now I'm looking forward to the festivities of the Abi-ball tomorrow. =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb