Die Zeit läuft. und ich muss abholen.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Düsseldorf
February 19th 2013
Published: February 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Alright so we're gonna play a little catch up here. So been about a week since I put some words down here. I was particularly inspired today though and thought I would come back and talk about whats happened since then. So lets start with Karneval. During this festival I ended up meeting this girl from America by total accident because I was lost looking for a certain place a friend of mine I had just met was. This friend I met on a carpool from Berlin. Everything has been spontaneous since I've been here. No shit... Like stuff just happens.. I meet people... and it has me questioning daily. Is it fate or coicindence that guides our lives? Either or I'm cool with it all. I'm in the right spots at the right time. So yeah back to where I was.. On the street mildly intoxicated looking for a certain street during Karneval. I ask this girl in german "excuse me can I ask you a question" to which she responds in not from here. Never have I been so glad someone sounded american in my whole life. So I start to pick her brain and find out she's from Arizona, Sedona to be exact. Now I'm beyond intrigued. We have our day during Karneval but then I don't see her again. So I spend the next wondering if i've given enough information to reconnect. On facebook.. always on facebook. So yeah we connect. Between then and where I want to describe mostly normal events. I've been hanging out with my host family. So this saturday I then went to another soccer game.. Fortuna game to exact. It ended in home win which is always good. After that I was supposed to go shopping/hangout. It ended up being more of a go over to her house. As soon as I got there she had finished a glass of wine so I decided to dive in too. We started drinking wine and began to discuss her living condition. She was on a an internship with a major hotel selection company and was living with a 50 yr old former model now yoga instructor. At this point still haven't met her though. She has an apparent out of work gay middle age man living with her from Hamburg. He was interesting. He was on his way out as I was on my way in. So we spent the largest part of the night drinking wine and talking about america. What Arizona was like, how she liked Germany so far, and really just everything. Life. Cultural Differences. The whole gambit. Explored the yoga studio. Attempted some yoga moves. Failed miserably. Ended up killing two bottles and then meeting the lady at about my peak happy zone. We talked a little about politics and peace. Beyond nice. Then shortly after that we all decided to call it a night. Woke up the next morning got breakfast and kaffee with girl on the Rhein. Maybe there has never been a more beautiful sight in my life than walking along the Rhein in the sunshine in late winter. We got lost a few times so it turned into more like lunch and a few beers. Then I got one for the road. We sat on the steps in Altstadt and watched the Rhein flow for a little. Favorite hobby of Düsseldorfers. Set on the steps of Altstadt and drink beer while watching the river and the sunset. Took her home. Then took a nap. Next day I went shopping. Updated my wardrobe a little bit. Bought some winter gear. Scarf, Beanie, Hoodie, Just more european looking stuff. After my shopping trip I went back to the Steps in Altstadt. Sat down and drank a few beers. Also makes me want to go into to the total drinking culture of Germany. They believe that you have the option to drink as much as you want but its your responsbility to live a normal live... work love etc. I believe the same. You can become your vices.. or you can enjoy your vices. I choose the latter as I prefer to live a still seemingly normal life without becoming homeless etc. Anyways I meet some random older girls we began to chat, They are on holiday times and invite me to go to the bar with them. We drink. and drink. and drink. Lots of drinking. talking. then a late night sandwich and I conclude the night. I'm just glad Im able to have random experiences... meet new people.. thats what I really live for. If i wasn't at Karneval would I have ever met american girl? If I wasn't on the steps would I have ever met these girls ? Neither here nor there. But thats the update on activities. I should put in more pictures but im too lazy right now. Maybe tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb