Köln - Day 2


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
June 18th 2014
Published: June 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

FrühstückFrühstückFrühstück

eggs and German bacon!
Today I walked along the Rhine and got a better understanding of the city, I still love the fact I can navagate without a map and base where I am off of the cathedral. Today I check out the Römisch-Germanisches Museum (Roman-German). Lots of cool stuff there and some very ancient as well, therer was a lot of really cool glass there and it turns out Köln was the largest class producer in Europe and was a Roman city. They have a piece there that was worht over 40.000.000 € and is one of 5 pieces.

The Germans are till psyched up on the victory over portugal yesterday. I ended up eating breakfast by an old city gate entrance built in the 13th century. I cannot tell if my tiredness is from walking around all day or jet-leg still.

I did find out a few things about the city that will pertain to a few of you: first - mom would like this city cause a brewery had an asparagus week, two - dad would hate this city for not having a dairy queen any where nearby, three - I found Jeff and Michelles new vehical, you will have
Tor = gate to KölnTor = gate to KölnTor = gate to Köln

built in 13th century
to look through the pictures!

I am not sure why today, but the cathedral started hanging all these flags up for the city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

StoresStores
Stores

Mainly for Steve Fischer to shop
StoresStores
Stores

More of Steve Fischer to shop at
Roman FloorRoman Floor
Roman Floor

Adolf Hitler would have loved this floor! Odd that this is in Köln though and from Roman era, fore shadowing?
Lots of cool glassLots of cool glass
Lots of cool glass

Köln produced a ton of glass!


18th June 2014

Koln
It must be fun being there with the recent victory. The world cup is generating a lot of excitement. Happy travels
18th June 2014

Koln
First, awesome car! I think we do need one. Second.... Jealous of the schnitzel!!! Looks delicious. I'm sure your not starving while there. Keep up the posts we love checking in.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb