Shopping in Koln and the Dom


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
August 16th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

KölnKölnKöln

The Kölner Dom
This morning I met with M.Lampe my counselor for the first time. Havier's family my host mom and I plus is family where out for breakfeast at a lovely little restoraurant in town with fine pastries. The meal was nice I was happy to meet him so we couldarrange to get my things settled moneyweise. At 10:30 I caught up with Michelle and Her friend Nadia to take the bus to Koln. We got at the station just on time to catch the first bus their. The ride was not to bad going up. The girls were speaking english with me when a guy sitting next to us started asking question's about how come I was here in english. Turn's out he'd been an exchange student with EF to Colorado for 6 months last year. I found it really cool and he spoke really good english too so I just continued to chat with him when this other girl over hearing our conversation told her she too had been of some exchange to Colorado. When we arrived in Cologne we got off the bus right near the train station. I told him good bye and left then we left Nadia wanted
KölnKölnKöln

This Dom is breathe Taking. It is so massive and big for something of that time it's magical to see it
water and just befor he came back and asked for my email. The girls found it funny and made fun old me after. Once we walked through the train station and get out the Dom a colassol Dom was at my Feet. It is soo soo soo extraordinary one cannot imagine just how big it is and the work on it from a simple picture. We when inside and looked around Nadia had never been in all her life and She's been living right beside it. It was a euro to go up the tower 509 steps long and hard work for turning and turning while going up. One cannot be fat or have heart problems to make it to the top. It's not very big half way up their we stopped to look at the bells they are so big and beautiful. finally shortly after we reached the top. I got pictures to prove it. =) The view is so worth it though. it was really nice we could see for miles the weather was sunny and no clouds in sight so we the view was incredible.


We got down and Shopping through the streets it was
KölnKölnKöln

Close up at some of the art work
great I had a good time with the girls And we all bought quite a bit of stuff. I thought of Andy when we stopped in to eat at Mc Donald's and before I left he was explaining to me that all I needed to know was Eine BigMac. LOL after lunch we did some more Shopping until all of us where death tired. The ride back was exhusting there was alot of people on the bus and it made it very warm and uncomfortable to go back the ride seemed longer. It's about an hour bye bus. We got back at 8:30 pm so a big day it was lol.




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

KölnKöln
Köln

Isn' it Gigantic. Sorry I know it's bulury
KölnKöln
Köln

inside
KölnKöln
Köln

Windows. Awesome hey!!!
KölnKöln
Köln

The floor
KölnKöln
Köln

Window
KölnKöln
Köln

Window again. Can you believe it
KölnKöln
Köln

The Dom
KölnKöln
Köln

The bell
KölnKöln
Köln

The bell
KölnKöln
Köln

Nadia and I. Up at the top.
KölnKöln
Köln

Us again. Don't I look touristy
KölnKöln
Köln

The splendid view over the Rhine
KölnKöln
Köln

The city
KölnKöln
Köln

The city with part of the church
KölnKöln
Köln

Another view of the city on a clear day
KölnKöln
Köln

the church Through the gate.
KölnKöln
Köln

The back of the Dom
KölnKöln
Köln

outside again.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb