Cathedrals and Castles


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
June 11th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Colonge and the Rhine River Valley



Colonge and the Rhine River Valley
Julie J Vanover
I came to Cologne because I wanted to see the Rhine River Valley and Cologne was the coolest city- by far- around the area. I didn't do alot of sightseeing in Cologne because I always was getting in really late. I did see the Cathedral there which is massive, you step out of the train station and the Cathedral is literally right there. It is so big that your neck gets tired looking at it. Just walking around it was a workout. Unfortunately this was really all that I saw of Cologne, this city is on my list of cities to see more of.

There isn't a whole lot to say about my cruise down the Rhine, I started in Koblenz and ended in Bingen see the "best of the Rhine" in these 6 hours. I sat on the deck and enjoyed the sunshine, pulled out the umbrella for the rain and relaxed and wrote in my journal in between castles. It was a very lazy, enjoyable relaxing day... and it was just what I needed. The reason that there are so many castles on the Rhine is because of the large amount of ships and trading that happened on this large river. The king of the castle would require money for passage up the river. The Rhine River Valley should be enjoyed in pictures not by boring typing, so imagine that you are on the deck of the boat (preferably during the sunny time, the rainy time sucked a little although I did get much better seats). It was rather hazy most of the day so some of the pictures will show that. And there are many more castles that I saw that I didn't include. Also, I believe that I got the names of all the castles correct, but no promises.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The Cologne Cathedral The Cologne Cathedral
The Cologne Cathedral

This is looking across the Rhine River.


9th July 2007

I've always wanted to float down the Rhine River. I'm glad it was so pleasant for you. The castles are all lovely.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb