Loving the German culture!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Bonn
September 20th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Fruh beer houseThe Fruh beer houseThe Fruh beer house

My first taste of Kölshe, and far from the last!
I have been having a great time in Bonn. Staying with my friend Katja (whom I met as an exchange student at UBC) and her boyfriend, Patrick. Even though Katja has had to work every day, her and Patrick are phenomenal hosts, doing everything they can to ensure I have as an authentic German experience as possible. On Monday, the weather wasnt fantastic, but Patrick and I went for a nice long run along the Rhine River. Katja met up with us after work and we went to visit one of the museums featuring a Guggenheim exhibit. We went out for authentic German food, I had speitzel and shnitzel (basically a doughy pasta and breaded pork cutlets). It was heavy, but good.

Tuesday, Patrick and I took a day trip to Cologne. We visited the famous cathedral (The Dom). This cathedral is famous for having the largest working bell tower in the world, and is supposedly host to the 3 Wise men (amongst other crazy tombs that I was very intrigued with). Cologne was also one of the most badly destroyed cities from World War II, so it is amazing that the cathedral didnt get flattened, when you see the
Shnitzel!Shnitzel!Shnitzel!

Need I say more, this meal could fill you up for a week!
impact of the war on the rest of the city. Then we put on our real German hats and hit the bars (so it was only 3pm on a Tuesday, big deal). Cologne is known for Kölsch, which is a light and slightly bitter beer, with umpteen different breweries right in the city. We tried 4 different ones and one russian beer (on Patricks reccommendation). So our mini pub crawl kept going until about 1am, when we fuzzily returned back to Bonn.

Today, Katja was able to get half the day off and we took a day trip out to a part of the Rhine valley famous for making a sweet red wine. It was absolutely amazing. Ive definitely realized that I am more of a landscape person than a museum person, but I guess I knew that already. We meandered through the vineyards and sunflower farms on bikes, borrowed some grapes and apples from the "local garden," bought some of the local wine and drank it by the river. It was a fabulous day. I could not have imagined that so many amazing days were possible. I am loving Germany, and will be sad to leave on Friday,
Katja and PatrickKatja and PatrickKatja and Patrick

My amazing German hosts!
but as is the life of a backpacker, I must leave these great experiences to make others happen...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb