"Dirty Thursday": Train ride to Bonn


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Bonn
January 31st 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This has been a pretty good week. I'm finally feeling settled here in the German world. I've figured out how to work the European laundry machines, taken my first unsupervised trip, and found new safe trails to run on. Also I figured out some of my new favorite staples from the Penny Markt, a cheap local grocery store and I made a somewhat nice/"real" dinner for my roommate and me(chicken, creamy white spinach sauce with pasta shells and freshly steamed broccoli--YUM). Groups have settled in somewhat as far as travel goes. All this has made my third week mark (today!) a good spot to be in. God is really blessing me and working things out!

While all this is true, last night was stressful. After I made a late dinner for Karen and I, I tried to study for my first German test, given this morning. I had such trouble concentrating. I kept taking breaks so I didn't end up going to bed until close to 1 am and got up at 7 am to run, study more, and pack for this weekend--all before my 9:15 am class.

All is well now. I think I did alright on German and now adventure is ahead. We're staying in Bonn (home of Beethoven) for the next two nights, but are taking day trips to Düsseldorf and Cologne. We have state projects where we visit the capital and various other places to get a feel for our state up close and personal. Mine is North Rhine-Westphalia.

This weekend should be extra special, especially in Cologne, because its Fasching/Karnival. It's kind of like Germany's version of New Orleans' Mardi Gras. Today, "Dirty Thursday", starts a week long party before Lent. Should be interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb