Be Weary of Germans Bearing Ouzo...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Hannover
August 18th 2007
Published: August 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dawn Writes:

We spent the morning recovering from the German/Irish karaoke fiasco of 2007 and then spent the afternoon shopping. Sarah also took me to get my nose pierced which seemed like a good thing to do on vacation until Sarah translated for me that there was the remotest of possibilities that my face might become paralyzed. Well I’m known for being a risk taker (hee he) so I did it anyway. My face is fine, the right half just doesn’t move anymore.

Afterwards, we were off to Sarah’s parents to meet her family. We were of course offered more German beer which we were too polite to decline. After some small talk, beer and pleasantries, out came the Ouzo (the European equivalent of Zambooka). I don’t know how many bottles we went through but I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves. Although the evening started off with some awkward language barriers, after a bit of Ouzo and the word “schlumpe” all barriers were gone! Oh Ouzo.

We spent the next day recovering and cursing Sarah’s parents and their damned Ouzo! I’m not exaggerating either, we spent the entire day recovering and didn’t even get dressed until 6:30 pm when we went for a walk through an old cemetery so Sean and Erik could take some pictures which we’ll put on the blog another day.

I’m writing this entry now from our hotel room in Bayeux, France. We’re almost a week behind on our blog but we’ll try to catch up in a few days!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



25th August 2007

Oh those embarassing pictures!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sure looks like you guys were having fun.Plenty of moments to remember!!!!!!!!!! I've saved ALLthe pictures Dawn!!!!!!!!!!! Love you guys. xoxoxo

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb