Notes from Germany: A second family


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Goslar
July 11th 2010
Published: October 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Making FriendsMaking FriendsMaking Friends

Sculpture in downtown Goslar
In all my travels, I realized that I have never lived with a host family. There have been meals with natives and many connections, but never have I immersed myself in another totally random and unfamiliar family. It was harder than I anticipated, but more rewarding than I could have imagined.

I found myself in Germany for most of the month of June and part of July chaperoning eleven aspiring world travelers. The Goslar Germany and Shaker Heights High School student exchange has been a reoccurring exchange that has lasted for over 30+ years. Most years, it is lead by at least one German teacher, but this year, there were two openings, so I quickly signed up for that assignment.

The exchange consisted of almost three weeks living in the mini medieval town called Goslar. Approximately two hours from Berlin and appropriately equipped with a Kaiser's palace, winding cobblestone roads, restored wood frame houses, and a working water wheel perfectly placed in the center of town.

The town was beautiful, the people friendly, the pace just slow enough to make you stop and look up at the mountains and look down to admire the flowers, the beer and brats were abound and the H&M in the center of town helped me to never feel to homesick.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



28th October 2011

Lucky kids!
Those were some lucky kids that got the "ultimate world traveler" as guide to their first glimpse of seeing the world! I'm sure you inspired them to travel smart and to live like a local! Where to next?

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb