Bye-bye Bournemouth, hello Hamburg!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
November 20th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

With 6 bags between the two of us, getting to and from the airport can be a challenge. We somehow managed to pack our lives back up, including any new items we might have aquired, and began our journey to our new home in Hamburg. Since we’d already been introduced to our new city from the SMM Boat Show back in September, we knew exactly what to expect—which was nice.

A few hours up in the air and some 6-bag-tackling later, we were in the taxi and on our way to the Clipper-Elb Lodge—where we’d be residing for the next 3 months. It’s a good location, right by the water and it’s close to bus stops, subways and walking paths. Grant either bikes or hitches a ride with a friend to work (a little over a mile for his commute) and I take the bus to and from the International School each day. I've enrolled in a classes only gym membership (and running outside). It's interesting taking pilates in another language. I'm pretty sure I missed several jokes.

We’re really enjoying it here and learning a lot about the culture. We wanted to get some pictures out so you could see where we’re living and what it’s like.

Our next blog will be about Copenhagen and possibly Amsterdam if we make it there this weekend.

Love & Miss,

Ali & Grant


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

On my run, I took several sunset picturesOn my run, I took several sunset pictures
On my run, I took several sunset pictures

This is one of many-- it was a couple days before we were leaving.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Bournemouth
SunsetSunset
Sunset

I went a little camera crazy-- but the sky was changing every second.
Clipper-Elb LodgeClipper-Elb Lodge
Clipper-Elb Lodge

Hamburg, Germany- outside of where we're living.


Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb