German Adventures: Part 6 - The Freimarkt


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bremen » Bremen
October 15th 2011
Published: December 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi guys..Hope you are all well!



So it's been well over a week since I last informed you of the goings on here...(which is surprisingly a long time!)



So what's been happening? Well on Tuesday I had my first proper lectures (5 in total) so I had to get up at 7am, and they were due to last on and off until 7:30pm..Being the first Tuesday lectures I was attending, they were new subjects for me. I tuned up at the room and sat down..and then in walks this Chinese lecturer who starts speaking Chinese and writing it - after waiting to see this wasn't some kind of German joke, I realised I was clearly in the wrong lecture so i went down to check the board with room changes and there is NOWHERE that says where the class is....So I checked the notes again and there is no where that the correct rooms are written...So I sat about in the canteen waiting for my lecture afterwards...When I turned up the lecturer (who was supposed to give me 2 lectures that day) was away this week, and so I had no classes either.



I therefore decided I would go shopping in the city and hope that at least my German lecture in the evening was on. So I found a music shop and managed to get myself two albums from Cassandra Steen and Monrose, making my day feel slightly better! I then went home as waited until the evening for my final class, and the Welcome Evening that night. Luckily the class was on, and it was good (My personal highlight being the jealousy my lecturer has with me having 'einhundert prozent perfekt Englisch'). After the class ended we had a welcome evening arranged for us from the Bremen Erasmus network, where I met lots of people I had so far missed from the two and a half weeks I was here, including some Venezuelans, even more Spanish (I swear there are more Spanish here than Germans) and the most exciting of all...a Georgian!



Then yesterday was the opening of the 976th Annual Freimarkt...which is the oldest fayre in Germany and the largest in the North of the country. It lasts two weeks and starts with a firework display which is what I went to last night. Its a general type of fayre, like the carnivals we have back home, but much much bigger. Theres many large rides, games and lots of food on sale, all very German. Afterwards I went with some other Erasmus students to a club, where on Fridays we get free entry, and free drinks until midnight, where let's just say I got carried away after 6½ Bacardis. Best of all, it cost me absolutely nothing last night. RESULT.



Hope all is going well for you guys!

Kevin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb