Managing the city with a cold/sinus infection, the Neukölln Oper, & my German course begins tomorrow!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
September 6th 2015
Published: September 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Typical...I get sick my 2nd day in Berlin! Haha but we must laugh because it is just that...TYPICAL! In hindsight, I should've been taking multivitamins and loading my immune system up with vitamin C, but it seems it's too late for that. Thankfully I have this beautiful city, that rains even when the sun shines, to take my mind off my runny rose & headache.

Last night I attended my first opera at the Neukölln Oper. It was a leisurely 20 minute walk from my apartment, which is always welcome in my book, but the thing that took my breath away was as I turned the corner onto Karl-Marx-Straße the buildings suddenly and drastically changed from tall, colored apartments with beautiful plants hanging from the balconies to massive, (and I mean MASSIVE) beige historical buildings. You know how you always see pictures of castles and cathedrals in Europe that are beautiful...well seeing these architectural buildings in the flesh is a mini-mind-blow of an experience. And, of course, the one pic I got says nothing for the actual building, but I figured I'd include it anyway for people with imaginations :P just think big! Back to the topic of conversation...the opera! Carmen or Die Akte Carmen is what I ended up seeing and it was terrific, to say the least!! A small theatre, similar to a black box in the states, seating around 250 people. The band consisted of 13 players and the cast was just about the same size. The singers were young and lively. Carmen and José were simply wonderful. Full of passion and sultry vibes from Carmen and José was a more-than-typical Polizist (police man). And for all you singers, he was a tall, lanky tenor with long blonde hair...not what I was expecting either, but very fulfilling haha!!! The atmosphere was relaxed with people wearing jeans and sweaters, while I had on a dress with leggings. Everything from the coat hanging racks inside the theatre to the bar (also inside the theatre) was fantastic. The pre-show consisted of a clarinetist and guitarist improvising for about 15 minutes before show-time. I wish I would've snapped a video, but I was so caught up in the magic that was happening that I forgot. It was my first with live music in Berlin and I fell in love...once again!!

In other news, I start my German immersion course tomorrow. Being a Capricorn and a control freak, I found the building this weekend just to leave my mind at ease. Before heading to Alexanderplatz (the area where my course will be held), I decided to try a quant café on the Spree river. THE BEST SALAD I HAVE EVER HAD. Even if you don't like salads, this will make you change your mind. The chicken was like nothing I had ever tasted. And the sauces were so strange and sweet I must go back to fully describe what I ingested. And the waiter was the greatest! It seems that if you give the effort to speak their language, even if it's as poor as mine is, they will be more than willing to help you and also teach you a little something along the way. Sounds simple but it's easier said than done, especially when you are in a foreign place by yourself! But thankfully I am persistent and speak German everywhere I go, even if I have to pull out my handy-dandy german book for reference.

Well, it is dinner time here and my headache persists. Chat soon! :D

Oh, and one more thing. The germans have this thing on Sunday called quiet hours, where noise must cease between 1pm and 3pm. It is, as my neighbor/sweet-mate says, "cute". Perhaps I'll adopt this tradition.

Guten Abend!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th September 2015

What a wonderful description
The way you write makes me feel like I was right there with you. Thanks for all the details. And just want you to know that people are so nice to you because you ar so nice to them. You are just passing Gods goodness and Love everywhere you are. ???

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb