Berlin - Take My Breath Away


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 12th 2017
Published: July 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hello one and all.

So, I had previously written text for this entry, but somehow, as only I can do in all my glorious technical inability, managed to delete it all. I am now left with a blank slate - or Tabula Rasa, as Jean Jacques-Rosseau so eloquently put it, ready to spew some verbal vomit for you all to read. My memory is pretty unreliable at best, so let's see if I can remember all the frolicking gallivanting I did in this wondrous city! My first impressions of Berlin were initially: What a cool fucking TV Tower (excuse the crudeness, but I'm just being honest), as I was coming in on the train to Berlin. My second impressions were: Woohoo, the hotel is so close to the U-Bahn (Train). My friend and I arrived at just after 10pm on our first night in Berlin, so basically went straight to sleep to prepare for the next day's adventures. The first point of call was the East Side Gallery, otherwise known as part of the remaining Berlin Wall. I was basically salivating over all the varied and unusual pieces of art and graffiti on the different panels along the wall. There was such an array of thought-provoking, emotive, and frankly, very abstract and unusual art that I was quite moved by the experience, notwithstanding the loaded history behind the wall, so to speak. The Soviet side of the wall in particular possessed some very dark and symbolic and highly charged imagery, and I would have loved more time and knowledge of Berlin's history to truly be able to decipher and appreciate all the iconic art. I loved the dynamic nature of the wall, there was still new art being added to the old. I found that a really cool aspect of Berlin actually; there was so many old historic buildings and the like, but so many new builings were being erected also. A sign of a burgeoning city that embraces both the old and new world. In saying that, many European cities possess all different quarters, whether it be different cultural quarters, or the basic delineation of the Old or New Towns. I really like this aspect of European cities as it gives you a holistic sense of the city, as though the spectres of the old are mingling with the tangible new elements of the city. I am bloody tired writing this, so please excuse my strange metaphors in this entry haha. So, back to what I was waffling about. I am currently enjoying a Czech cider as I write this. Traversing 21km of Prague today makes me feel justified in doing so, so that might also affect the length and content of this entry hehe. After spending some time at the Wall, it started hosing down with rain. We decided to go to a local shopping plaza to seek refuge from the rain for a while. Eventually, we proceeded to Alexander Platz. This was a really nice space. There was a beautiful fountain, featuring Triton atop the fountain brandishing his trident which was releasing water into the fountain. He was surrounded by a circle of cherubs/figures of which I wasn't overly familiar with as my knowledge of Greek mythology is severely lacking. There were gorgeous views of surrounding buildings, of which I fail to remember the names. A rather neat looking church and clocktower were present near the square. There were a few armed policemen nearby. This was a huge adjustment I found, seeing heavily armed police with large guns. It was quite disconcerting. Brandenburg Gate and other places featured them also. We then went to visit The Berliner Dome (or Berlin Dome). I'd love to put the correct little symbols above the letters in German words, but alas cannot figure it out on this tablet, so sorry guys for ruining the precision of the language. I was really excited to see this cathedral (like every other cathedral really). I have a huge obsession with big pretty cathedrals apparently, suppose that is pretty normal considering just how mightily impressive they are, mind. This was the most stunning of buildings. I marvelled at the large dome atop the building. The dome is a curious mixture of Renaissance, Gothic, Baroque and neo-classical architecture, due to the various architects who has built it from its early conception, through to its remodelled state, etc. The green domes and roofs of many older buildings have a green patina, caused by natural oxidisation processes that occur when copper changes over time. The colour looks pretty, nonetheless, I think anyway. After gushing over this beautiful building, we went to see other landmarks. We went to the Reichstag, which was a very moving experience, knowing of its history. The building caught on fire in 1933, due to unknown circumstances, and during Nazi occupation, was not technically used (nearby opera house was) during that time. However, after the fire, the Nazi's used the fire as a reason (read: excuse) to create the Reichstag Fire Decree, giving them the rights to arrest Communists and increase police presence and action within Berlin. Later the building was used for political propoganda uses. Despite all this, the building is still OK today, despite suffering damage during bombings during air raids during the war. It is a poignant reminder of Berlin's tarnished history. Nearby the new parliamentary buildings are situated, once a gain a mix of old and new co-existing side by side. I've noticed that Germany seems to really acknowledge the fact that terrible things happened due to many of their forebearers' actions of the past, but they don't try and hide the fact that these things happened, quite the opposite really. They do not remain hidden under the rug, but don't let an often tainted history detract from their culture and city's modernity. We furthered down towards Brandenburg Gate which needs no further explanation really, it was quite impressive, with its blazing chariots sitting atop the gate, and golden embellishments. Seeing Checkpoint Charlie was also another visit, the actual checkpoint itself is quite small, and swarms of tourists surrounded it. It was virtually un-impenetrable, so just gazed at it from a distance. We then decided to walk back through the Gate, and down a long walkway down past the Tiergarten and to the Zoologischer Garten to visit some of my travel companion's two German friends, and ex-pat American, cum-Berlin reveller. We went and ate some currywurst (basically a curry sausage and chips, delish!). We also went to a local mall and I went mad looking at the local vinyl store (so many cool obscure albums that I wanted). The band t-shirts were killer too (Lisa, you'd love this place!). We then headed back into Friedrichstrasse (again can't use correct funny looking double S symbol for "strasse" or "street" in English). We learnt some interesting facts about different areas of Berlin, and went to some nifty alternative bars, where i had a yummy cocktail (it had vodka, lime and other nice stuff in it, can't recall the name). After an evening of political, cultural and ideological discussions, I left feeling far more knowledgeable about Europe (and with a sinking realization of just how little I knew of it beforehand) and headed back to the hotel. Berlin reminded me a lot of Wellington, my favourite New Zealand city with its sometimes hipster and cultured vibes permeating the area. I feel like Berlin would be a fantastic place to live, Germany in general really. I am really fond of German people, and meeting some new German friends in addition to my existing ones has reaffirmed my love of it's people and country. Seeing Dresden further solidified my love of the place really. It appeals to my love of culture, history, and physical and architectural beauty, I see why people rave about it. Anyway, I am so tired, and have been burning the candle at both ends, so am going to say goodnight to this rather oversized blog. I will endeavour to write a Prague entry soon, but need to arise early as we are headed to Munich for a few days. We will be seeing a fairytale castle, Dachau amongst other places, so no doubt future blogs will be equally long affairs, apologies in advance. I miss all you lovely New Zealand folk, but feel entirely awash with foreign adventure, and really don't want the adventures to end. Until the next entry,

Peace and love,
Bex x


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



17th July 2017
SAM_0931

Awesome view
Fabulous building and what a gorgeous model. Loving the look

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb