Experiencing the Berlin Wall-East Side Gallery


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 14th 2015
Published: July 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided to finally make my way across to the other side of the city and see what I was most excited about for in my visit to Berlin. The Berlin was hold tremendous history and I was really excited to get a look at all the murals it had to offer. Living here in Berlin has become a quite easy task for me as I discover and explore different place to eat and get entertainment. To get to the Berlin Wall I had to get the train for what seem to be a really short ride. Once I arrived to the East Side Gallery the wall was immense and very impressive. Knowing that I was standing at the site that separated and divided the city for over 25 years was a remarkable feeling. Since the time that the wall divided that city between East and West Berlin there have been various murals painted on the wall and those are not just graffiti they are more then that, they are pieces of art that have stood the time and have become a part of the Berlin Experience. Although most of the wall has come down the East-side Gallery was filled
with tourist waiting to take a picture with each of the murals on the wall. The wall itself is very impressive as it stand around 10 feet high with a round top to make it more difficult to climb. Many of the tourist and local who have come to the wall have expressed themselves on the wall which has taken away from the murals, however, the wall is still very impressive and it was truly unbelievable to me to be there looking at so much history. The murals that impressed me the most were the painting with numerous colors and intricate details to their work. I really enjoyed walking around the whole gallery I enjoyed it to much the following day I met an Argentinean that was going to be in Berlin for 24 hours and I went with him to the Berlin Wall because I told him it would be a must see while he is in Berlin as it was that impressive to me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement




Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb