Ordnung ist ordnung and Befehl ist Befehl


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Curious birdCurious birdCurious bird

while cycling in Germay
Im Wald in der Nähe von Nienburg.
21-04-2000.

Ever since I left Eastern Germany's dark-green forests behind me, goodbye to the weird fairy tale land of the brothers Grimm, things have turned for the better.

I cycle all day under a nice spring sun. No more rain and sleet slashing into my face all day. No more cold wind whipping against my frame trying to slow down my hard work on my bike, instead I experience a nice but easy breeze in my back gliding me along all the way back to my beloved Amsterdam.

Gone are the nearly abandoned ancient German villages where the aged left-over population looked downtrotten with dull eyes that betrayed no hope for the future, whose clothes where moth eaten, old people sipping Schnapps while waiting for eternity's bony fingers to come and get them. Instead I cycle through small cities that are full with life, , the hustle and bustle of a hard working population, where people hurry to and fro, where the stinking exhaust fumes of passing cars invade my nostrils making me cough.

I cycle through countryside dotted with farms where locals are busily plowing the earth with massive
A flock of geeseA flock of geeseA flock of geese

while cycling in Germany.
tractors, fields with grain and maize glide by while my legs do the work....up and down they go on the pedals of my bicycle.

Small little roadside cafes and bars provide me with the occasional cup of strong coffee and disapproving looks from the other clietêle. I'm a drifter and these are frowned upon by the highly organised culture of the economic powerhouse called The German Republic.

Ordnung soll es geben and Befehl ist BeFehl.

Their obvious but quiet disapproval does not bother me...in mere days I'll be back home, back in my own appartment where I can shower and shave off my bushy beard, where I can step out of these smelly cycle clothes, visit a hair salon and get my disheveled hair cropped....but then I mere days I'll be like them again...a working stiff having to slave away for a dominant boss to pay my rent, my bills and my taxes.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb