Berlin platz


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
March 10th 2009
Published: March 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Berlin Berlin Berlin.....it was a very interesting trip thats for sure. Dave and I arrived to an extremely nice hostel that was barely a year old converted out of an old beer house. Very cool. We walked around looking for lunch and found a little farmers market and ate disgusting currywurst...Dave told me this was just a special type of sausage but actually turned out to be bratwurst covered in curry ketchup. Yuck. We found some really good crepes and I got harrassed by the fruit stand man because I didnt speak German. Once again, Dave sent me ahead to try and talk with the locals and this man was the town clown! Everyone around us was laughing as he made a joke of the situation, including Dave who apparently understood everything the man was saying but refused to help me out. Anyway, definitely enjoyed the market!
The next day, we took a third reich walking tour around the city. The tourguide took us around and showed us apartment buildings and other assorted types of modern buildings of where things used to be. After the war, everything was either destroyed by bombs or knocked down by those attempting to cover up the past. We saw the famous Bradenburg Gate and Reich Stag which was cool and heard some interesting stories. We saw where hitlers bunker used to be and is now a courtyard in the middle of an apartment complex where those living in the apartments bring their dogs to relieve themselves. Ironic. Basically all of Berlin has been rebuilt due to the war and the Russians. We saw one of the few remaining pieces of the Berlin wall as well as Checkpoint charlie. Its hard to imagine how it used to be! The wall now is just a brick path laid within the concrete where it used to be.
We returned to the hostel to pick up Jess who had arrived from Egypt! We then went and got dinner of delicious bratwurst, potatos, and this scrumtios brown sugar mustard concoction (kind of like what we make at home) and then back to the hostel where Jess immediately passed out. Dave and I hung out in the lounge of the hostel and had a beer and relaxed, then went to bed.
In the middle of the night I woke up extremely sick. In the morning, I thought it had passed until Dave and I made it to the supermarket to get bread and water for breakfast and neither of us could really stand. We then returned to the hostel, where we had already checked out and fell asleep, head down on the tables. Both of us were suffering from food poisoning. Jess went to the pharmacy and got some medicine for us which made dave immediately worse and me much better. By 1:30 we left the hostel once again and headed downtown where I made it about a block before I decided I needed to go back to the hostel. I went back by myself and proceeded to sleep on one of the sofas in the lounge all day. In and out of sleep, all I saw were people checking in and out all day giving me funny looks. Thankfully, the hostel staff was extremely nice and let me sleep there. Dave and Jess got back around 5 where Dave fell asleep on the table again and I slept till 7:30. We tried eating soup, didnt go too well. By 9, thankfully I could at least walk and we headed to the train station to catch our night train to Munich, hands full of crackers, applesauce, vitamin water, and sprite. I immediately fell asleep on the train and woke up absolutely starving. Dave seems to have recovered as well. The only guess we could say that caused it is the beer we had before we went to bed. Jess, Dave, and I all had the exact same dinner, the only difference was the tap beer from the hostel. Hopefully, that is the end of that nonsense.
I enjoyed Berlin and could definitely go back there for a more extended amount of time. Its a city with a lot of character because of the past. Walking around, you can just feel the soul of the city. Times up, back to paying for internet!!

Advertisement



20th March 2009

Josse, Sounds like quite a trip. I bet you 3 are having a ball. Your Mom sent me the link to your blog. Sounds like a wonderful time. Aunt Emily

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb