Goodbye Berlin and Summary


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
December 11th 2022
Published: December 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

The long weekend totally flew by! One minute we had arrived and then we were getting up at 5am to catch the plane home on Sunday.

There’s so much more in Berlin that I want to see, so I do need to come back, maybe try it in the summer!

The majority of the historic stuff I’ve seen has been about WW2 and the Cold War occupation. I would like to learn more about earlier history plus more recent culture and what it’s like to be a German these days. Unlike many other countries I’ve visited, they certainly openly confront the very worst parts of their history, don’t try to make excuses but try to educate. I wish more countries could do that, including my own.

Their architecture is pretty wonderful and I prefer it to the recent architecture of the UK. Berlin has less than half the population of London, yet feels a lot smaller than that, maybe because I’ve only seen a very small part. I think next time I go to Berlin or Germany, I need to get further away from the tourist areas.

Another thing of note was that I felt very safe there. Our guide Daniel said he did have his phone nicked, so you still need to be careful. However, I’ve been in countries where it felt I was being watched all the time and it certainly wasn’t like that. All the Germans I spoke to were helpful and friendly, good people.

I would totally recommend visiting there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb