Our Trip has finally started


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jackie at the MARTA stationJackie at the MARTA stationJackie at the MARTA station

We are finally on the way
Blog #1
Monday, May 19-Our trip started at about 1:00pm with a ride from our neighbor, Chris, to the nearby Marta train station. The Marta ride went without a problem and we arrived at the airport about two hours before our scheduled departure.

After clearing security, we proceeded to Terminal T to find our brother-in-law, John, waiting for us in the Delta Crown Room. After a brief stay with him it was off to the gate for boarding. We were successful in getting business-class seating, together. We were flying on a “Buddy pass” from Delta which means there must be space available on the plane before you board.

The flight departed on time and was smooth. Jackie watched a movie and I read before dinner was served. We had a four course dinner with soup, salad, main course (Mahi-Mahi for me, chicken for Jackie), then ice cream sundae for me. We had nice Wente cabernet sauvignon with the meal.

After dinner we slept; well, we did the best we could. I probably got two hours and Jackie four. It was only about 6:30pm, Atlanta time when we were trying to sleep. There is a six hour time change
Tom does repair workTom does repair workTom does repair work

He had to use his prescription sunglasses to see
to Germany so we wanted to get what sleep we could overnight.

Before I got to sleep, I had a problem with my eye glasses. The tiny screw on the right dropped out and released the lens. I was lucky to find the screw. I had a repair kit in my suitcase but it was up in the overhead behind us. So, I gave up my reading and went to sleep, with plans to repair in the morning. As you will see, I used my prescription sunglasses to aid my attempt to repair, with success.

Tuesday, May 20, 2008
We caught a taxi in from the airport in a 6-Series Mercedes Benz. The driver was a talkative Hungarian that had relatives in the USA. He told us all about his travels there. Including how he got married in Las Vegas and spent time in the Smoky Mountains! His name was Samuel. And man, did he dislike Muslins. He said that they would one day take over the world given their birthrate and spread of religion. He said that they were taking his business away.
We got lucky again at check-in. We arrived about 8:30am, with check-in time of
Munich SubwaysMunich SubwaysMunich Subways

On the Hitler Tour
2:00pm. But there was one non-smoking room available. So, we took it and are there now. We are at the Best Western Hotel Cristal in Munich. We are not far from the main train station.

Reading the tour material from the hotel, it appears that there at two options for this week. One is the Nazi tour that includes Dachau and all the pubs and places that Hitler frequented. The other is a day trip to Neuschwanstein Castle. It is Disney-styled castle located on the famous “Swan Lake.”

Our original plans were for us to take the train to Salzburg, Austria tomorrow morning for a day trip. However, Thursday is a national holiday in Germany and many things will be closed. We are soon to go over to the train station to find out. Then we will decide what we do tomorrow.

After a short rest we headed out at 2:00pm to see what we could find to do. I had seen a brochure that indicated a tour would start at 3:00pm that is focused on Hitler and the Third Reich. We also discovered that any of the tours that we care to do will be available on the holiday, Thursday.

We decided to take the Hitler tour. It was fascinating. Hitler moved from Austria to Munich in his twenties. He joined the German army during World War I and returned to Munich afterwards. We visited all the places of note in his life including the beer taverns, hotels, and office buildings where he and the Nazis developed and grew the party.

It was a walking tour and I’m sure we did about two miles. It was cool (about 55) and sometimes raining. Our group of 10 plus the guide made good time. I have lots of photos which I will organize later. The last stop was at the Nazi Party headquarters during the war where Hitler had a personal office for several years. Next door was the site of the old Gestapo headquarters.

After returning to our room, we decided on an early dinner and chose a good German restaurant. It was good but very filling with large servings. I had soup, port tenderloin and ice cream. Jackie had her favorite salad: mozzarella and tomato.

I was just told to announce to everyone that I will no longer be so detailed in my blogs. No more meal reports, unless they are spectacular.

On Friday, we start the day at the BMW site to do the factory tour and pick up the new car.
That’s it for now.


Advertisement



20th May 2008

Great start to a fabulous trip. I can't wait to hear more. I enjoyed the meal report. This blog is for you and those who wish to read it, I would write whatever I wanted to in it.
20th May 2008

I'll be following your adventures
Hey, Love the blog. That's a great photo of the Munich subway. Cheers, rp
20th May 2008

Keep up the good work, let us know about the car as soon as you get it, and more pictures.

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb