Stop Two in Bavaria - Rothenburg ob der Tauber


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Rothenburg ob der Tauber
July 18th 2012
Published: July 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Rothenburg Rothenburg Rothenburg

Our Fairy Tale Hotel comprised of all three of these buildings, formerly the home of one family!
Rothenburg was our second stop in Bavaria from Sunday to Tuesday. Since there are several towns called simply Rothenburg, I specified the formal name for those that are looking online for more detail about the places I am visiting. In the Middle Ages, Rothenburg was a "free imperial city" and one of Germany's largest cities. Today, it is the country's best preserved medievial walled town. (a very cool sight -make sure you check out the pictures). We found a gorgeous room at Eisenhut which was right on the Market Square, a spot filled with history and shopping! It was a fancy medievial home with historic furnishings and our suite consisted of a sitting room, huge sleeping room complete with chandelier, and a luxury bathroom where I experienced my first bidet, kind of ironic after way too much time on the toliet the past days! I literally felt like I was in a fairy tale. Rothenburg was a charming little city with cobblestone streets and almost every building adorned with window boxes. We enjoyed a stroll through the city and a great meal at a quaint wine bar and restuarant. This will definitely be a city I will return to as there is so much more I did not get to explore due to my unplanned trip to the hoospital. No, that was certainly not on my list of "Must See While in Rothenburg"! But, enjoy the pictures and you will get a feel for what a great place this is to visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hat ModelHat Model
Hat Model

He had to do something to entertain himself while I shopped for the perfect gift for Jamie1
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

Goofing around!
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

A quick lunch of potato soup. It's standarad fare here found on almost all menus and I told Ralf about how my mom used to make it for me when I didn't feel good - great timing!
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

Our beautiful bidet!
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

We had this lady craft us a personalized plaque that says" Welcome from Amber and Ralf" in German to hang at home in Florida
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

Pre-dinner picture - notice the chandelier!
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

Our plaque nearing completion
Rothenburg Rothenburg
Rothenburg

Armed guard of the walled city!


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb