London to Regensburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
December 13th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning after a wake up a call I took the Paddington -Heathrow express back to catch my flight to Munich. From there there was a connecting bus to a station called Fleising and the local train about 1 hour to Regensburg. The entire carrige was rather entertained by the conversations of four American servicemen returning to their local base from a weekend's snowboarding in Austria. They have served in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Since this trip has been rather hectic in its preparation up to now, it was only on the train that I realised that I had not printed out my instructions for finding the language school. I knew it was in the old city near the famous bridge across the Danube and the cathedral. So, with my pathetic German and aided by a kind Mercedes- driving taxi driver and then a friendly family out for a stroll I found it without too much difficulty. In Red Hen Lane!

So here I am.. in my own room.Pleasant but fairly spartan...Ikea furnishings, turrets of snow outside my window. Private bathroom, wifi. There's a share kitchen and living room. Very friendly others...there seem to be about 40 in residence from absolutely everywhere. I talked to people from Czech Republic , Spain, Luxembourg.

Soo....had better go to sleep in order to survive my first day as a language student. Exciting! Wish me luck.

Advertisement



14th December 2010

Regensburg
I have just commented on Blog 3 & found the little notice "submit comment" which I had failed to do. It was a rave review as it made me feel as if I were there with you.I love the range of descriptions from the travel to the town,the people, what you had to eat, the furnishings-- all really better than photos, which should be used to complement your travel story--ie not as the main feature. It's now late. I have been shopping most of the day with Susan & have just returned from the swim club where I clocked up the usual 1Km. So, I'll go back to Blog 1 tomorrow. Love

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb