Regensburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
October 22nd 2010
Published: October 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Trip: 4 Regensburg



Day 1



Frank had to travel to Bavaria for work for 21/2 weeks. Since I am not working yet I decided to visit him on the weekends. We were lucky enough to find a hotel in great town called Regensburg.
Regensburg is a beautiful town that has historical sights dating all the way back to 1000 years ago. It is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Some people we met here claimed even farther back but it hasn't been scientifically proven YET. We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard hotel in Regensburg. It is a little farther out from the old town center but easily within walking distance. Regensburg has walking trails everywhere so it was very easy to walk anywhere you wanted to go. The first day I ventured into the old part of town by myself and Frank met me later. The main way to enter the old town area is to cross a stone bridge. When you look at this bridge it is nice, it is fairly big and crosses the Danube river into old town Regensburg. It really looks like you are walking into a fairytale kingdom. You can almost imagine people arriving with wagons, horses, and families to go to town. It was built in 1136 and still amazes engineers today.
Once in the old town I decided to get some food first so I headed to a little restaurant called "Alex's". It was very good I had curry chicken soup and a Fanta. Frank called me while I was eating and told me he was on his way. We agreed to meet at the Dom.
The Dom also known as the Regensburg Cathedral is dedicated to St. Peter. It is considered to be the most important landmark of Regensburg and is still a functioning Catholic Cathedral. The Cathedral is considered Gothic architecture. When I first walked up to the Dom it was breath taking. It is huge. We decided to make our way inside. The stain glass windows were stunning and the ceiling were sky high. I joked with Frank if we ever hit the lottery I want ceilings like that. :O) The Dom also had a museum inside that contained some religious artifacts.
After touring the Cathedral we decided to make our way to a cafe b/c Frank had not eaten yet. We went to a wonderful placed called "Procks". Frank had soup and I had hot chocolate.
Then we headed to St. Urliche this was another church but inside it also contained various pieces of art. Some of it was pretty old and some of it was pretty new. Both Frank and I got the feeling it was pretty pricey stuff. It was the only place we went into that they had security walking around.
After that we did some shopping and made our way into a shop called the Wiene Olive. It was a wonderful place that sold French wines, Pate's, and Foi Gras. They had a tasting so we decided to give it a try. Frank tried the Classic French wines and I tried the Mediterranean wines. We each tried 6 wines. We loved most of the wines. I am afraid neither one of us were very fond of the the pate's or the Foi Gras. If anyone likes that stuff more power to you. :O)
After wine tasting we made our way to this restaurant Frank read about and really wanted to go to. It was called a Bordego. It was a Spanish tapas restaurant. It was a lot of fun and had some interesting art. The food was more like finger food so I don't know if I would recommend it for dinner but a place to hang out I would totally recommend it. While we were there a gentleman with fire engine red pants arrived with a beautiful blond and they were all over each other for HOURS. All you saw were hands, tongues, and bright red pants. It made for some good comedy. He wasn't the best looking guy we kept saying it most of been his bright red pants. LOL!

We made our way back to the hotel after that stopping to take some pictures at the bridge at night. It was a great day!

Stay tuned for Day 2 of Regensburg!


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb