Days 38 - 42 , Pressath, Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Nuremberg (aka Nürnberg)
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Days 38 - 42: Sunday, January 3rd thru Thursday, January 7th, 2010:
Pressath, Germany

I'm smooshing (it's a word computer, stop telling me I spelled it wrong!) these 5 days together for a couple of reasons. #1 Blissfully, they were a calm 5 days and I didn't take that many pictures until the last day, Thursday and #2 (hehe, "who does #2 work for?") I'm having a hard time remembering what we did do as it is now 1/19/10 and I'm finally writing this.

SUNDAY 1/3/10
So, yes, Saturday night was fun and had a good sleep. Woke up Sunday and I was worried that they were one of those families that got up, got dressed, and had breakfast then tackled the day. No, thank God, they're normal and it was an easy going "whenever, whatever" day. Hmm, now that I think about it, we may have gone on the walk today and not yesterday. In fact, I'm pretty sure we did. Oh well, same story, different day 😊

I can't really remember what else we did this day, movies were involved and possibly a game. We had dinner, did above mentioned (and previously mentioned) walk, and then we headed to the base to watch Avatar (yup, I liked it enough that I was willing to see it again!) As for the military base part, that's why Dusty and Clan are in Germany, Randy is stationed there. I'd tell you what base, but then my life would be forfeit (plus I can't remember the name of it and Google is being crabby, what am I, in China? Thank ya folks- I'll be here all week, tip your waiter.)

We get to the base and Dusty signs me in, I hand over my passport and get a fun laminated pass. We drive over to the theater and there is one slight difference between this theater and the one, say, anywhere I've ever been. There is a tank sitting outside. No longer working, it's sort of a memorial that kids are allowed to climb on. Wish I had taken a picture of it with the theater behind it but I was nervous about taking pictures on base. Hey Reline/Burleson Clan- if that's allowed, can you send me a pic? 😊

We head inside where Randy & Dusty are sweet enough to buy me a ticket (cheaper than in
Town Hall in AmbergTown Hall in AmbergTown Hall in Amberg

Located in the cute shopping plaza.
the states, well done Army!) We sit down and Nathan didn't have to think twice about the fact that I will embarrass him, so he goes to sit with friends. It takes Chesna a little bit longer to realize that I could ruin her school career so she splits before the previews start. I sit there and watch the movie intently, trying to ignore the fact that Dusty & Randy were having a major make out session since they were kid free (at this point Dusty will exclaim "We were not!" and the kids will go "Ewwww!" and I will remind everyone about my fondness for telling the opposite of the truth for dramatic flair.) Still a fun movie, even 2nd time around. We grab my passport at the gate and head on home. Everyone else has work and school tomorrow, and I have a date with Dusty's collection of "Grey's Anatomy."

MONDAY 1/4/10
Hmm, no pictures from this day. There was a 2 hours school delay because there was an inch of snow on the ground. They were all kind of laughing and wondering about why there was a delay with that little snow, but they all welcomed
Nathan and Chesna enjoyed the apps on my iPhoneNathan and Chesna enjoyed the apps on my iPhoneNathan and Chesna enjoyed the apps on my iPhone

Picture of Chesna, as lovingly "touched up" by Nathan.
the additional break.

Once the house was mine, all mine, I watched Grey's Anatomy. I watched a lot of Grey's Anatomy. I ate junk food, it was good. Since I had had to buy a belt to keep my jeans on, I knew I had lost weight from my month in Europe with food that hated me. So, I decided to step on the scale at their house and I have, thus far, lost 17 pounds. A good diet in the sense that I am too busy looking at the world to realize I'm hungry. Anyway, back to my busy day... oh, yeah, I played on the Internet and did laundry. There ya go, whole day. I loved it! The family came back in the afternoon/evening and I believe we played a board game called "Blurt!" Mr. Nathan was the winner.

TUESDAY 1/5/10
Dusty took the day off and we drove about 20 minute away to the town of Amberg (you know, where I tried to hop off the train on Saturday: "Nuremberg?" "Amberg." "Nuremberg?" "AMBERG." I ain't too swift.) Amberg is a cute little town who has turned their old fortress area into a shopping center. We drove an additional 30 minutes trying to find parking because everyone else wanted to go to this cute little town who has turned their old fortress area into a shopping center. We find some parking and do some walking. The stores were nice, with only a few American chains here and there. Dusty finds some boots she had been looking for and I find that I should have worn my thermals. We only shopped for about 40 minutes before I once again wimped out and whined to go back to the car. Dusty probably felt like she was shopping with one of the kids.

On the way back to Pressath we stop at (insert Army base name here) and Dusty signs me in again. First stop is the post office and bank (I was hoping to exchange my Czech Kronas but no such luck, oh well, I'll do it at the airport Friday.) We then head over to their version of a mall, complete with a very Wal-Mart type store and an American grocery store. Both stores made me want to cry. I could read the labels! I knew what these products were! I don't know if I mentioned it in a previous entry but I am walking around with two bottles of hair conditioner because I keep thinking I'm buying shampoo, but no, I'm not. Plus, somewhere I bought Cheetos and upon biting into them I realized that there was something horribly wrong- they were ketchup flavored Cheetos. Why have I been forsaken?

I prepare for the upcoming Cairo trip and stock up on Power Bars and Dusty decides to give a coffee maker a good home. It was also a little weird to see American money being used- home, sweet, home. We then head over to the grocery store where I proceed to get the munchies and pick up any junk food I can find. Cheetos (usually I'm a crunchy girl but Puffs have been calling to me- hold the ketchup please), popcorn, Pepsi- sweet sweet Pepsi, and Reese's Peanut Butter Cups. I only have 4 days left to gain all the weight back. I can do it!

We check out and head home (also nice to type). We get to the house and Dusty is kidnapped by the neighbor (she's fine, they only cut out one kidney) so I decided to pull my weight as a house guest and put away the groceries. Of course, while "putting away the groceries", I polished off a good chunk of those Cheetos. Mmmmm. The rest of the family comes home and after homework and dinner, we watch "Over the Hedge". Cute flick. Plus, I don't think I fell asleep nor snore thru it 😊

WEDNESDAY 1/6/10
Another no picture day and I spent it, once more, watching Grey's Anatomy and playing on the Internet. I cannot explain how truly wonderful it felt to do "normal" things again. Yes, I'm on an amazing adventure that many would kill for, but the creature comforts from home are missed. The fam decided to chance it with me one more night and everyone came home. More fun homework (ugh, poor kids- and parents!), dinner, and then a game of Monopoly that was so exciting to Chesna and Nathan that neither stuck around to finish. I love this game, to the point that I won't ask people if they want to play because I love this game. I used to play Monopoly by myself, acting out 3 - 4 players. Sometimes mental instability can lead to hours of amusement. Being the mature
A surprise for Dusty and Randy, a photo shoot!A surprise for Dusty and Randy, a photo shoot!A surprise for Dusty and Randy, a photo shoot!

Poor Dusty wanted to go on the walk with us and looked crushed when we said "No!" Hopefully the pics will make up for it.
adult that I am, I own the Lord of the Rings Monopoly addition. Sadly, no one can win, because the Ring is the final, winning piece that you need and it's in my jewelry box. 'Cause I like wearing it. It's my precious. So, yeah, did I mention I liked Monopoly? (ahem: winner: me)

THURSDAY 1/7/10
I don't know how to break it to you, but I watched Grey's Anatomy and played on the Internet today. Plus, I did another small load of laundry because who knows if/when I will ever see a washing machine again. Another fun thing I did was that last week, I found out that the Australia trip I had booked was cancelled. So, I found another (basically same trip, just going from Cairns to Sydney instead of Sydney to Cairns) and then proceeded to re-arrange all my hotels and flights and what not. Fun. Also, the China trip I had booked had been changed so I needed to make different arrangements for that (I ended up booking another trip entirely because of their changes.) So, while Grey's Anatomy was playing in the background, I was on the phone with Orbitz and Malaysian Airlines and Qantas and Air New Zealand and various hotels.

Today, myself, Nathan and Chesna had decided to do something nice for Dusty and Randy. As soon as Nathan & Chesna were home, we were going to run (haha! walk) to a nearby pond and take some pictures of the two of them as a gift for the folks. Dusty was going to be late getting home because she was awesome and was stopping by the base to pick up some fast food for dinner (I was getting Burger King, mmmm.) Unfortunately, we mentioned to Dusty last night that the kids and I were going to go on a walk and she wanted to go. We said no, and she said she really wanted to go with us. We said no. And I felt like a horrible person and friend.

Chesna comes back from school and she hadn't had the best day. She was sent home with one of those notes that told her parents that Chesna had something that she needed to discuss with them. A note we've all gotten. She also got an invitation from a friend to go to a birthday party. The message was in a bottle with pretty paper decorating the outside. Chesna starts to deconstruct the wrappings and as she does so, I notice that this cute message bottle is actually an empty (and clean) Corona beer bottle. So, I decide to add a little more stress to Dusty & Randy's life and when Nathan comes home, we leave the beer bottle on top of the "Chesna has something to tell you" note and head out the door to do our photo shoot.

So the three of us start walking to the pond and it starts getting pretty darn cold. And, apparently, I forgot to remind Chesna to go to the bathroom. And Nathan is upset about something from school. And Chesna wanted to pet the pretty German Shepherd that was behind his "DO NOT TOUCH" fence. And did I mention it was cold? And the pond wasn't as close as it had seemed in the summer. At one point, because I'm very un-PC and just down right offensive at times, I equated our walk to the Trail of Tears. I don't know how parents do it. I could be amused by it because, like a grandparent, soon I would be pushing them off on other people. But boy do you have to have patience on a daily basis- go parents!

We get to the pond. We take the pictures. The kids actually start smiling at one point and the walk back is a bit more light hearted. Plus, I learned a very valuable lesson. NEVER borrow Nathan's ear bud headphones because he's learned the neat trick of stick the buds in his nose and opening his mouth and acting as a human speaker. Neat trick. Nasty headphones.

We get back to the house and poor, lonely Dusty is playing on the computer, while all our bountiful fast food waits in the kitchen. You're the best Dusty, thank you. Actually, your entire family is pretty damn awesome- well done guys! We eat the glorious fast food and it's another fun homework night. Afterwards, I watch the Family Guy Star Wars movie with them, hadn't even heard of that. Cute! After that, I call it a night because I get to repack Monstro and prepare for my early flight out of Munich tomorrow (and poor Dusty is driving me there, we'll be leaving the house around 6am.)

It was an awesome week in Pressath, and I can't thank you guys enough.









Advertisement



20th January 2010

You got the kids drunk and blamed their teacher?
Did they put a monitor in the tank so you can watch the movie from inside the tank?
21st January 2010

Funny!
Funniest.Blog.Ever!!! Miss you!!!

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 19; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb