Off to Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
December 13th 2014
Published: December 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Christmas displayChristmas displayChristmas display

Kaufhof department store window (Munich)
Had a great time last night meeting up with some locals that I have known for 40 years. Even managed to Meet with Heini - our Austria/Australian friend who is back in His home village to do some paperwork and visit his 92 year old Mother. Heini was very excited to let us know he now has an Australian passport and consequently dual citizenship! On the way back to Seefeld I managed to exceed the speed limit in the village of Hall - and got pinged 35 euros for doing 64kph in a 50kph zone. I was also lucky not to get a ticket for failing to have my driver's licence with me.

Yesterday I missed meeting with my bank manager to give him the usual X-mas presents and get some money. I had to use an ATM - and in doing so I received a message saying my bank card would expire in 20 days. Shit! Looking at all other possibilities to pick up the card - and saw they were all weekends. I sent an e-mail to my bank manager asking how/when/where I could get my new card. Early this morning he sent me an e-mail saying the
Christmas displayChristmas displayChristmas display

more Kaufhof window display
card as in the bank office - and he would gladly meet me at the bank and give me the card. How many of you have a bank manager that would open the branch on a Saturday to give you your new bank card??? As a token of my appreciation - I gave him extra packets of Tim Tams to share amongst his family and staff. After exchanging seasons greetings - it was off to Munich to check with our hotel to make sure everything was in order for the last night of our Christmas tour. Munich, like Seefeld, like Innsbruck - also without snow - and with tens of thousands of visitors at the Christmas markets.

Left Munich city and drove to the airport where we checked in at the Sheraton Hotel. 4 clients on our "pre-tour" met with us - and we went to a local Italian restaurant for the evening meal. As they had just arrive earlier that day and were tired - as were Kathie and I - we were all in our rooms by around 9pm.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Christmas displayChristmas display
Christmas display

and yet more of Kaufhof window display.


15th December 2014

Go the Tim Tams!
Ah, all the memories these posts are stirring up! We know the Tim Tams can fix everything in Austria :) After two of these tours, Christmas does not feel the same back in Australia! I will be back there next year, and hopefully there will be more snow. I hope it snows for you in Seefeld for Christmas, and keeps the magic of your tour alive and magical :)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb