Ugh - Wednesday already! Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
December 10th 2014
Published: December 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Rathaus (Town Hall)  Marienplatz, Munich Rathaus (Town Hall)  Marienplatz, Munich Rathaus (Town Hall) Marienplatz, Munich

This is Munich's main square. The town hall or Rathaus.
Well, I've been in Munich for the last couple of days. I skipped Salzberg and came on to Germany. I hadn't planned on staying here this long, but I had some housekeeping I needed to do. I mailed 20 Kg of gifts, souvenirs and dirty clothes home in order to lighten my load (I used the dirty clothes as packing material.) Yay! That's 44 pounds out of my suitcase! Oh my goodness! I had to find the post office, get some boxes and return to the “Post Station” to actually mail the boxes. I'm pretty proud of myself for that as well as tackling the “S” train system to get where I want to go. I've enjoyed my stay and gotten some needed rest before I hit the road again. I've toured the Old Town some and done a little shopping. LIGHT shopping! I was in a multilevel bookstore and was on the elevator going up. I know full well the “stand right-walk/climb left” rule, but wasn't thinking about it in a bookstore of all places, when an impatient man came up behind me. Realizing my error, I moved over and he went past as I muttered “Sorry.” He turned his head and in his thick German accent, loudly exclaimed, “YOU’RE VELCOME!” I had a nice little chuckle to myself there! I have some great photos to share, I hope you enjoy them.

Tomorrow I'm up VERY early to catch the 7:50am train to Fussen to see the “Mad” King Ludwig’s castles. The original Cinderella’s castle that inspired Walt Disney. I so excited to see these castles AND to travel 44 pounds lighter! I think my suitcase will love it as well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

MunichMunich
Munich

A very lovely example of a Christmas pyramid.
Frauenkirche, Munich Frauenkirche, Munich
Frauenkirche, Munich

One tower is under construction/renovation. This is the church Pope Benedict XVI (current Pope) was the archbishop of from 1977 to 1982.
Frauenkirche, Munich Frauenkirche, Munich
Frauenkirche, Munich

The church honors Ludwig the Bavarian with this big black tomb-like monument. He ruled Bavaria, then Germany and became Holy Roman Emperor in the 1300s.
Frauenkirche, MunichFrauenkirche, Munich
Frauenkirche, Munich

The plaque honoring Pope Benedict XVI.
Dallmayr DelicatessenDallmayr Delicatessen
Dallmayr Delicatessen

The plaque reads: "Now presenting the Deliverer for the King of Bavaria and his Court." Dallmayr was the caterer to the royals and aristocrats.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb