Oktoberfest day 2, SOOOO early


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 1st 2011
Published: October 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

WHY am I up at 630 am..with a headache... heading to a Beer Tent to drink this early??? ooh yeah the experience of it. We leave the hostel around 640 am to walk to the Huge Beer tent. There are tons of tents everywhere. When we get there, there is already a line of people. well not a line more of a mosh pit of people waiting to get in. Do these people not have anything better do?? ooh wait Im here too. We wait 2 hours standing, pressed against everyone, waiting for the magic doors to open so we can all rush in and drink. haha sounds fun right? Doors open, It is a Stampede... people are just pushing you from behind and im thinking someone is going to get trampled here. I just flow with the crowd getting sucked into two big doors. ( side note.. you have to get to these tents early because once they are full you cant get in, and once you leave you cant get back in. ) So we are sitting and 20 minutes later liters of beer start showing up. And Im starving so I buy one huge pretzel. After being there for one hour I was ready to leave. Im exhausted, Im drinking a beer at 930 am which is the earliest I have ever drank. Around noon I have already ordered some chicken and finished it, and drank a liter of beer. I felt that I have experienced Oktoberfest and was ready to go to sleep. I mean these people sit in this tent all day day till 11 pm at night. That was not going to be me. ha, I leave the tent about 1 pm. I ask a cop for directions and I think he pointed me the wrong way so I ended up going 40 minutes the opposite way. So I caught a bus back...got to my hostel... and went to sleep for 8 hours.

I woke up to my Aussie friend giving me a hug and whispering that she was so drunk up and threw up everywhere. Ha. Me on the other hand felt fine. I got some sleep, I didn't drink a lot and did in some way enjoyed the experience. I prob wont ever go back to Oktoberfest. Also the other Aussie girl didnt even get back till I think 2 am.

Tomorrow I plan on just walking the city and doing tour stuff and sleeping in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb