Munich night train to Hungary


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
July 5th 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up in the morning and everyone was bouncing around making noise! They all wanted to be up two hours before we got off the train for some damn reasonl. I rolled over and tried to keep sleeping. It never really worked that well. Finally got up and got organized and trying to remember street names so it would be easy to find my way around Munich.
I didnt really get too far with this whole thing but I had the book handy to refresh the memory. Got out of the station and guessed which way to go cause it said go East and I had no indication of east without my handy compass!!!! Anyways I got lucky this time and picked the right way. Figured this out sooner or later and made my way into the town center. Wasnt too huge which was nice. I had my bag with me not really knowing whether or not I was gonna stay in town tonight or not. It was gonna be 20 Euro minimum to stay so I was hoping I could do most of my sightseeing and check out another place. I made it to the main square and what do you know there was a Free Tour going on in 5 mins. Trouble was I had the bloody bag still. Oh well. I figured although I look like a knob I will try and do as much of the tour as I could with the bag and then just peace. Everyone thought I was quite brave with the bag on. They didnt even know how heavy the thing was. The tour guide lady was another Kiwi. Man they love their travelling. She had been living there for 2 months now after studying German most of her life in school. The tour started at the massive New town which looked a lot older then it really was on purpose of course.
It was a pretty good tour actually I learnt a whole lot about Bavaria. She told us about Henry the Lion who ruled Bavaria in the early days. Thats why there are sooo many lions around town to symbolize it. She told us about the Old Town Hall history and the New Town hall where we met up and were talking now inside. In 1870 Napolean conquered Bavaria and gave it to his cousin Eugeene to rule. There are 4 Reichs in Germany. The first was early German Reich. The second was Roman rule. The third was Hitlers third Reich and now they are in the fourth. She taught us about the end of the first world war after the signing of the Treaty of Versaille and how inflated their currency was. It was basically worthless. This was how Hitler was able to come into power with his politics.
We all followed her outside to the church just beside the New town hall, where she told us the story of how Satan helped make the church. She showed us the footprint Satan left inside as there was a service going on inside.
80% of Munich was destroyed by the Allies in WW2. Most of the town was rebuilt to look the way it once was. We took a walk to the famous Hofbrauhaus where people have been enjoying Masses of beer for over 300 years. It was actually once a Royal Chicken coup we were told. They had chestnut trees all around the area to cool the beer with the shade. There are actually trough toilets in the beer parlour where people drop their Leiderhossen and piss from their tables after letting everyone surrounding know what they were about to do with their sticks. All of the members of the Hofbrauhaus have their names above their corresponding tables. They have their own Masses locked away behind the bar. When they arrive everyone knows what they want and cater to them. If your sitting at that table you have to move!! In order to be a part of this you have to been drinking at the pub for 20 years and you have to drink their 3 times a week!!! WOW now that is persistance.
We went to the new hall and she showed us where Hitler was the night of Kristalnacht and the details of what happened that night. Darker part of Germanies history so she talked very quietly. She told us about how Hitler used this murder of a German diplomat by a German, Jew. Whose mother was imprisoned by Hitlers Nazis. Anyways it was called Kristalnacht because there was soooooo much glass broken that night and the town was ruined. It was meant to look like the everyday citizens of Munich carried out the calamity. This was all part of Hitlers mad plan.
After that we kept on walking and it started to rain. I stopped and very conviently I had all my belongings including my jacket and bag cover with me. One bonus of bringing the big bag around. IT rained soooooooooooooooooooo hard I couldnt believe it. We took shelter under this tent where a market was on the weekend. She told us about the pole in front of us and how the Bavarian men danced to impress the ladies which was examplified on the pole. She also mentioned about Dauchau which was about about an forty mins away, which was the first Concentration camp built. Over 200,000 people were executed there and is horrific example of modern human existence.
We ran off to the square we started at for the and I didnt mind because I was protected every which was even wearing sandals and walking through the puddles rather than trying to hop over them. We took shelter again, and a fifteen minute break before the 12oclock showdown. It didnt take very long for that to be over. I threw on the old pack again and follwed up the steps back into the warfare of rain. We passed a church on the way called St
inside satans church inside satans church inside satans church

service going on
Peters in which some dude working on the church about 200 years ago dropped his beer glass from the top having a break. Well the thing never broke so it was automatically called an act of god and you can still see it today!!
We all hid underneath the restaurants umbrellas still trying to glimpse the dolls twirling around in medival nonchelance. I was pretty disspaointed by this wonder of the world. SOoooooooooo I was talking to the Asian girl who told me there was a really good bakery around and I could probably go grab something while this ended. So thats pretty much what I did.
Couldnt really find anything decent open so I came back to the square and no one was there. They ALL dissapeared leaving me behind in the pounding rain. I ran about looking for the group but never found them, THey were off to the Opera house but I had no idea where that was so I went back. I got myself a pretzel and another pastry which were delicous. Enjoyed those under cover and decided what I was gonna do next.
Every museum would be closed tommorow so I had to make good choices. There was a group of people leaving to tour Dachau at one with the same group, in which I was tempted. I really wanted to see this place, and I was kinda peeved on my timing because it would be closed tommorow. It was a bit of a pain to get to otherwise. It cost something like 15 Euro for the 6 or 7 hour tour there and back.
I decided to check out the BMW museum just near the metro station instead. The perc was that there was the Olympic village right beside it as well. Two stones is always better than one. I will have to go see Dachau some day for sure though.
Jumped on the metro after it took me awhile to figure out the German instructions and found the station I needed to get to.
Got on and wala within ten mins I was there. Went into the Museum or what I thought was the musueum and there were cars lined up against the glass everywhere. Real quite amazing designed building even by German standards. Put my bag in the locker room and I was free of the weight!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHH such a relief.
The Olympic building in the distance was just as impressive as well. It kind looked like the EMP in Seattle but all one color.
Went inside the BMW mueseum after sitting in a new Z4 with a convertible hardtop, I asked it was only starting at 40,000 Euro. Not bad eh. The exhibition building where I put my bag had all sorts of things for the public to check out. One of the more exciting parts was the F1 car I must say.
The musuem had this wicked car at the entrance which pretty much told me I have to see this place to believe it. Well it was pretty freaking sweet. There was this really cool fiberoptic display as well. I will have to figure this video option out for everyone to see. Tons and tons of pics taken of all the displays. Motorbikes cars and race models, everything BMW other than plane engines, which was kind of weird cause that was a big part of their market in the war at least.
There was this one part where you had to step on this pad and it told you about the car. I kept stepping around it not noticing that the guy was starting and stopping the same dialogue over and over and over. Finally I realized it. There was even a volume control depending on where you stood.
After I finished the museum I headed for the Olympic Village.Got myself a plastic mug of white beer. Total rip off but I was thirsty as hell; I think it was like 4 Euro hahaha. OH god mom would not be proud. Checkout the artificial lake they had their and the concert hall which MUSE was playing in the autumn. This girl came up to me as if I looked intelligent and asked me in German where the metro stop was. Well I stopped her pretty quick and told her sorry English. Well she was pretty embarrased but I said do need to know where something is. SHe was like yah the metro station. I was like oh yah its right down here im going that way. She was pretty happy about that but blew me out the water walking as fast as a bullet.
Got my bag from the locker in which it actually gave my money back and headed for the metro. Took the metro back to the central station and waited in line to enquire about night trains.
I think Im gonna check out Eastern Europe because after the wedding I dont think I will have a chance. SO luckily there was space and I booked a seat which only cost like 3 Euro. Wonderful.
After that I put my shit in a locker and wandered out to find some WIFI. The cafe right by the station had free WIFI for customers so I plunked down and sunk into the net. I talked to MURR MURR, Sarah, my parents and even got to watch the mens final between Nadal and Federer which sadly Federer won!! That was wicked though. They got to see a bit of Munich as the tram went by and people were talking at the tables beside me. I stayed there for like 3 hours or something with the simple purchase of one coffee. WHat a deal.
After that I wanted to check out a beer hall, so I went down to Hofbrauhaus the place I was at earlier and ordered a beer. I sat beside this German couple who were visiting Munich. They spoke no English at all but we made due. The Oompa band was playing red hot with their traditional Leiderhosen on and I saw a local dancing with all sorts of random younger ladies. The beer cost me like 6 Euro which is a rip for a litre of beer but what the hell if I do it once. Got some good pics. There was a group of kids screaming out everyone once in awhile CHUG CHUG CHUG and it got everyone going. The waitress actually had to stop them. FUnny enough.
TIme was winding down so I paid my bill and the waitress told me you cant leave without trying this item on the menu. Well it was the most expensive item and I didint want to miss the damn train so I had to refuse. Outside I got a pic of this group who were all in the getups as well. I never asked permission so as soon as they recognized I took a pic they told me to come over there. I did and I was kind of embarrased but he asked me where are ya from. I said Canada and how long are you gonna stay here. I told em ahhh well im actually leaving right now. Well just miss the train and come out drinking with us they said. HAHAHA of course this couldnt of happened at a worse time. Just how it goes right. I ended up getting a ^picture with the ncie looking ladies after the insisted and told everyone to say I banged the SHIT out of them. HAHAHA
Well I pretty much had to sprint for the train. I was back at it up to my old tricks again. I got to the station found my luggage and ran as fast as I could for the damn track. PHEEEEEEEEEEEEW i made it within seconds. WOW
There was two other people in the same seating cabin. One was an Asian Biker dude and the other was a straight buisiness man. They both left after about 1 hr and I had the place to myself. Night night of to HUNGARY!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 31


Advertisement

F1 engineF1 engine
F1 engine

tiny i have no idea how they do it


Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 16; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb