Ein Bier, bitte.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
May 8th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, first thing is first, and that's beer.

I order a Hofbraeuhaus Hefe Weisse, a white yeast beer, from the uniform clad waiter as we sit down for lunch in Munich today. I wait a little while, gaze around at the people eating, drinking, up at the leafy canopy of the Kastanienbaeume, chestnut trees, in the beer garden where we were lucky enough to steal four seats.

Next thing, its in front of me. Now, I must admit, I'm rather partial to beer. I basically really enjoy beer, especially on a hot day. I'm always the girl with the beer bottle in a room full of fancy cocktails, and I'm never ashamed or conscious about it. Must be the country girl breaking out...

I must explain that the beer comes in half litres only during the day. At night time, its served in a one litre 'Bierkrug', basically a massive beer glass. I'm glad its not night time yet, I think as the glass stands in front of me. Half a litre will be plenty to get me well on my way; one litre, well, let's say I wouldn't be writing this entry right now, judging from my history and the state of those around me who have gone for the one litre option.

The glass is tall and cool in my hand. We 'prost', cheers, then all take our first gulp of the respective beers we have ordered. Mine is delicious. There's little blobs of yeast floating around in it, which I think odd at first, but soon I can't really see them anymore. The beer is perfectly chilled and extremely smooth. Not bitter like most Australian equivalents. Just right as it glistens in the midday sun that has crept though the chestnut trees.

Am I a little tipsy already, and therefore everything appears so perfect? Maybe, maybe. But then our Weisswurst and Bretzels, pretzels, arrive. The beer tastes even better when it washes down the salty taste of the Bretzel.

Yum. I'm in heaven again.

X

Advertisement



10th May 2009

My favorite memories of Munich are from the beer gardens. The wheat beers are almost like a meal all by themselves. You brought back pleasent memories.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb