München


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 9th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I left after class and caught the train to meet Katie. We had planned on meeting up before she left to go back to the States. When I arrived, I found my hostel, checked in, dropped my bag off in my room, and with the help of the map the hostel gave me, I made my way to the Old Town. The Old Town is a pedestrian only zone, lined with shops and beautiful buildings. I spent a couple of hours walking around taking pictures, before finding something for dinner, visiting an email cafe, and then making my way back to the hostel. I ended up hanging out with the only other girl in our 12 bed hostel room, playing cards. The next morning, I woke up early to meet Katie and Moli at the train station (we didn't exactly have a set meeting time or place and I was worried that we wouldn't find each other so, I met them when their 6:30am train arrived). They were so surprised to see me. We decided to meet up again at my hostel in three hours so they could go and find the camp ground where they were going to stay. After another hour of sleep and then some breakfast, the three of us headed back to the train station to catch a train to Dachau.
Dachau was very interesting. Although it was not one of the "death camps", thousands of people still died there and it was also where numerous medical experiments took place. It was the first time I have been to a concentration camp and I have to admit that it was hard for me to connect the fact that all these terrible things happened at the very place where I was at. It was very peaceful and quiet, and walking through the trees towards the back of the camp was really quite pretty, that was until we came upon signs pointing out that that place over there was where they executed people, and that little ditch right there was in fact for the blood runoff. It was quite disturbing and yet not quite real at the same time. It is sort of hard to describe. We spent a good few hours walking around there, and then made our way back to Munich.
We did a little bit of walking around (we pretty much walked the same way I
MunichMunichMunich

Dachau
had done the evening before), and then made our way back to where they were staying so they could get changed. We walked back into the Old Town where we finished off our night at the Hofbrauhaus. Yes, the Hofbrauhaus is extremely touristy, but it was a lot of fun all the same. The next morning I said goodbye to Katie and Moli as they headed on and I headed back to Heidelberg.
I really enjoyed Munich. There was a lot to see and do, the buildings are very pretty, and it really is a fun city. I didn't however get to see everything that I had wanted to see (I did get to see my friends though, which was the main reason for me going to Munich in the first place) but I am holding off for when I come back for Oktoberfest!





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

MunichMunich
Munich

Katie and I at the Hofbrauhaus
MunichMunich
Munich

Dachau
MunichMunich
Munich

Dachau


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb