Munich Hijinks


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
October 27th 2017
Saved: January 7th 2019
Edit Blog Post

More than likely, and since this is a PG rated email, I will not reveal the Bavarian brouhaha that I experienced so many years ago. Just let it be on the record that a good time was had by all, and a better time was had by one person in particular. And I owe it all to my three semesters of German at UC Berkeley. Or maybe just blind luck?



Fast forward to today, and I doubt you will see me in any night clubs. There are just too many bombings, and terrorists targeting social clubs these days. On top of that, I am sure much has changed, and I am almost 50 years older than I was when I last visited. Let's hope I am a little wiser, and a lot older. I don't even recall sleeping much last time!



I went on a nice 4 hour bicycle tour of Old Munich, highlighted by a big beer and pretzel at the English pagoda. We also saw the famous human tripod in the park nearby.



I did manage to do some shopping, some artsy fartsy stuff for my then girl friend who wanted some designer home goods. I shipped them home, along with my suit. Suit? Yes, my travel buddy at the time talked me into taking a suit to Europe! He was a wine and symphony buff, and we soon parted ways. I went to the parties and nightclubs, he went to the concerts in a suit.



Taking cabs around Munich, I have no idea where I was going. Someone in our group knew where the best local pubs were located. And it did not matter that the beer was not as good as the Oktoberfest beer. I seem to recall either pool tables, or fuss ball games in the place. We must have ended up with about 20 or 30 people, who either followed us from the Oktoberfest grounds, or were already there. I also recall not being able to pay for anything. Those Germans kids took such great care of me!!!!



Just let it be said that somehow I made it back to the hostel near the Bahnhof each night, or should I say morning, slept until noon, and hit the repeat button. It was like Ground Day, but more fun!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb