Miltenberg am Main


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Miltenberg
March 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Old city of MiltenbergOld city of MiltenbergOld city of Miltenberg

A row of "Fachwerkhäuser" as the kind of architecture is called, on the top you see the castle "Mildenburg" an old stronghold of the city.

...the last days in my hometown



After the last weekend with my great friends in France, I went back to the cold "South" of Germany in order to prepare my journey and to say goodbye to my family and the friends I still have here.

In the moment I'm in my hometown Miltenberg in Bavaria, Germany.
It's a lovely, very little city along the river Main 70km South of Frankfurt.

In the moment I spend my days here sorting my visa & stuff, packing my backpack and getting ready for leaving.

Only a few things get on my nerves such as the bank who wasn't able to send me my creditcard which I demanded in December and the Iranian Visa agency who desperately wants a letter from my university that I study there....and another 20€ for the processing costs....what a world....anyway

On Monday I will leave all sorrows behind me and will go my way to the East....following parts of the ancient Silk Road. My first stops will be Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Macedonia, Greece and Turkey...but you'll see, I will keep you updated....




Monday 12.03.2007: Hitchhiking to Munich



SchnatterlochSchnatterlochSchnatterloch

The old market square of Miltenberg where the street leads up to the "Mildenburg" the castle overlooking the Main. On the left side is a very interesting museum about the Roman roots of this area and its history since then.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Gasthaus zum RieseGasthaus zum Riese
Gasthaus zum Riese

An old hotel and restaurant in Miltenberg. It's meant to be Germany's oldest hotel and there were already some kings staying there...now it houses a traditional restaurant with delicious dishes and great regional beer


9th March 2007

Hi, Mat.
Your small town is a beauty, I got to visit it!!!! So, you are leaving my friend... Leaving me behind in the 4 times cold Chicago. You going to Iran?? You are definitly crazy and wonderfull!! best wishes and keep me updated ernesto

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb