To the top of Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen » Zugspitze
September 28th 2010
Published: September 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Man did I sleep well. Its 7:30 and I’m up rolling out of bed and heading for the bathroom. Everyone’s asleep and I’m going to get up shower and have a nice quite breakfast. Woo, Hoo I love these Germany baths there the size of a phone both for midgets.

I’m finishing my shower when the door flies open; Hey I’m in here, as Heady walks into the bathroom. She screams, I’m hollering STOP!!!!!!!. Well my quite morning just went south. I’m out of the bath and downstairs trying to not make eye contact with either Bill or Hedi. The Inn Keeper meets at the bottom of the steps asking in his broken English “VIS EWERYSHING OK”? I respond Ya Ya Ya…. As I make my way to the breakfast table he’s following me “VHATS DER MADER” Nothing everything ok, Coffee can I just get some Coffee. So much for my quite breakfast.

Kirsten, Bill and Hedi come down for breakfast and everyone is very quiet until Hedi says “I didn’t know anyone was up” then everyone laughs and all is quickly forgotten.

I’m checking us out and the Inn Keeper says I’ll remember you now. Danka.

As I’m taking our luggage to the car I start hearing these bells ringing, you guessed it. The sheep were coming down the middle of the street, traffic has been stopped and lots of sheep were being herded down the street and into the field where the cows were last time we were here. Ok, imagine this Kirsten is hanging out the window waving her arms and hollering sheep see the sheep.

Where is the camera when I need it the most?

After loading everyone into the car we head to downtown Garmich. We drop off Bill and Hedi and they decide to shop while Kirsten and I go up to the mountain top. Zugspitze; Germany’s tallest mountain. We’ve been here before but it’s time to get a new hat, you can only buy this hat at the top of the mountain. Yep, I’ve tried and no success so this time I’m buying two so they last longer.

To make this trip faster we take the gondola, wooo was that a ride. I’m hanging on for life. Once we arrived Kirsten and I walk around enjoy some GluVine and purchase my hats.

While walking around the Zugspitze you are truly on top of the world, we were above the clouds and the mountain tops were popping through. You truly have closeness with God when you’re in a place as this.

About that time Kirsten prods me and says let blow this joint and pick up momma and daddy. I want to go to this little town called Oberammergau. They have this play that happens every ten years and I hear it’s pretty good. It’s called the Passion Play; it’s about the life of Christ. Of course my response is “I can tell you how it ends” since I’m a good upstanding Southern Baptist.

Kirsten looks at me and I quietly get into my car seat and start plugging in the village name into our Navi system.

Did I mention we have a navigation system in our rental car? Yea, we call her Helga. I tell Helga where were going and she tell us when and where to turn. I like Helga, I don’t know if Kirsten likes Helga yet.

Helga gets us to Oberammergau, no problems until there’s this I-4 traffic jam in the middle of southern Germany. We get to the village gate and police are stopping everyone and checking if they have tickets. Kirsten rolls the window down and sprecken the Deutsche with the Police. He waves us in, I look at her and ask what did you tell him. I told him we were here to have lunch with the Mother Mary.

We did have lunch but not with Mother Mary. We walked around the town and there must have been over one thousand folks there to see the play. I haven’t seen so many Christians together since a Bill Graham revival. All you good Southern Baptist know what I’m talking about.

All kidding aside the Passion Play is put on every ten years. Yes, you read it correctly, don’t take my word for it look it up on the internet. Neat story of why they do it every ten years.

As we were leaving Oberammergau Hedi says she wants to go visit a friend of hers in small town an hour north of where we are. Sounds good to me and I enter her friends address into Helga and off we go.

We get there in about two hours and have cake and coffee it was a nice visit if you understand Deutsche. Bill and I sit there trying to understand, ok, I’m sitting there trying to understand what’s being said.

After about two hours of coffee and cake Hedi says her goodbyes, everyone hugs and we were into the car on our way to Munich to find a Zimmer for the night.

Did I mention it’s the 200th anniversary of Oktoberfest? We finally found a hotel south of Munich around 9PM.

Oh, yea were we tired. We had a nice late dinner and we all quickly header to our rooms.
I was out before the door closed behind me.

Good night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



28th September 2010

Sheep
DANG Sheep! Again, another great story, can't wait for the next one. Sounds like you are all having a blast! Stevie - how's that b-day suit going? ;)
29th September 2010

greetings from TX
So jealous!! Glad yall are having fun!! Hugs to all!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb