Day 2d - Day Comes to an End - with Pigs Knuckles


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Fussen
December 12th 2006
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So having arrived at my hotel just before 6:00, I give Jeff a quick call, and learn that my daughter Shauna needs me to call her. Gone 2 days and daughter is having a "mom's away - I gotta talk now" attack. I talked to Shauna, and after learning she is not engaged nor dying, but just needed an emotional pep talk after getting her feelings hurt, was feeling the pangs of hunger since the potato soup had long since worn off. Since dinner at the hotel restaurant is included in my rate, and frankly I had walked enough for the day, Tonight's menu specialty that peaks my interest is Schweinsoxe, or in English, "Crunchy Pig Knuckle". OK, I could have taken the easy route and gone with the salmon, but I convince myself that this is part of the journey and go for it.

When the waitress arrives, someone should have had a camera. I mean, this hunk of meat on my plate is huge - the size of a cantelope. Basically this is the knee of the pig, and while it may not sound appetizing, once I dug my way through the crunch - which turned out to be fried fat (think pork rinds), there was the most delicious pork that I think I have ever eaten. Served with this was red cabbage and an apple dumpling. The cabbage was great, the dumpling a bit on the dry and tasteless side. I did treat myself to dessert - homemade gingerbread ice cream with cherry marmelade on the side, which was awesome. Again, I had enough time between courses to jot some memories in my journal to keep the memories fresh. By the time I finish my coffee after dinner, it is going on 8:30, and I'm pretty much wiped out for the day. So upstairs I go to get ready for my next adventure in the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb