Bertchestgaden and Salzburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Berchtesgaden
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi, how you doing back home while I am here in Europe? By the way have you guessed who this is yet? If not then you’re not a very good guesser because I am the only one in my family who puts humor into these blogs. This is Austin, if you haven’t guessed,and if you curious about why my other blogs just cut off at the ending that’s because my mom put them onto the blog before I was finished.
Well anyway the new thing that has happened recently is that we went to Salzburg, Austria and visited the biggest castle in Europe! It would have been twice as fun if it wasn’t raining the whole day. At the castle we had a little lunch and then went to the museum. I am not going to tell you that much about the museum because of two reasons. One reason is that it is hard to tell someone about things in a museum and have it be exciting for them. Reason number two is that I don’t want to take the time to tell you a lot about the museum because I am too lazy. One thing I will tell about
The fortress The fortress The fortress

The castle in Salzburg is surrounded by several forts. We walked the entire ridge and saw it all. Miles and miles of walking!
the museum is my favorite part of it. My favorite part of the museum was the display of all the weapons from the 12th century all the way up to World War II. Okay I have told you that part of the museum now let’s move on.
I can’t wait to go home and tell my friend Nick Podhorecki all about my trip (and if you’re reading this Nick I’m sorry if I spelled your last name wrong). When I go home also can’t wait to see my own bed again. You have no idea how much I have missed my comfy, warm bed.
When we left Salzburg we went to Berchtesgaden, Germany. We stayed at a nice three star hotel (which should have been at least a four star hotel) called Wittlesbach for one day. The room we stayed in was enormous for a European room and would have been pretty big for an American room. That night we just walked around Berchtesgaden for while taking pictures of churches and other cool stuff (see pictures below). Berchtesgaden is my mom’s favorite city, I forgot why she liked it so much, but I liked a fair amount too. The next day we left the hotel and went to the salt mine. When we got there it was 10:00 and when we tried to get in the door was locked. After awhile we realized that it doesn’t open until 11:30.
While we waited for the salt mine to open we went shopping. We went to one shop that was full of hand crafted, wooden, decorative items. From that shop Connor bought a top that spins when you pull a string, and I bought a wooden yo-yo. The next shop we went in was full of chocolates and wine. From that shop we bought chocolates to bring back home and to share at school.
After we shopped we went back to the salt mine and bought tickets (we kept the tickets so when we go home we will show everyone). Before we went into the mine we had to put on these really strange, black and white suits (see pictures below). Then we had to wait an hour and a half for the train, type thing. When we got onto the train it was like a roller coaster they even took pictures on the ride. When we got into the mine we got to go down slides to get to the low (it was really fun). We went through the mine, went down another slide, and we had no idea what the tour guide was saying because he spoke German. We also took a boat across one part were there was water. Connor and I also got some cool salt rocks. The salt mine was really fun.
I am getting tired of typing so good bye I guess.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

We took a train down into the mineWe took a train down into the mine
We took a train down into the mine

This salt mine is still working today. The tour showed us salt mining from its origins to how it is carried out today.


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb