Back to Germany - extremes New Delhi and Frankfurt Airport


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg
November 14th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

At the train platform inside of the airport:
delays of five minutes are announced.
Everything seemed so empty/ very few people compared to India.
Modern buildings (especially in the state-of-the-art airport of Frankfurt).
Nobody is sitting or sleeping on the floor doing nothing, just looking around/ everybody busy (if waiting at least working on the laptop).
Liquid on the floor can hardly be something ugly but just coffee.
Construction sites inside the airport are as well as lots of real houses in India (wood as windows and walls because the windows were not fit yet).
There are marked areas on the train platforms where the smokers can smoke (since very recently it’s prohibited in India to smoke at all in public places - very good if you ask me!).
The doors in the toilet open automatically and everything smells nice and very clean.
The atmosphere is impersonal and not very happy (no children laughing and running around, no strangers are talking and discussing with each other). Cold climate, grey sky and no leaves on the trees.
People were stylish but in large part dark clothes (no beautiful and colourful saris).
I could buy my train ticket within 3 minutes in a wending machine paying with my credit card.
Not a lot of people, cars etc. on the streets.
In the train I met some Indians in their warmest winter clothes - I hope they don’t perceive Germany that negative - it’s just another way to have access to its people - once you know people you feel good!

I´ve an important request to the INDIANS that read my blog: please, please, please tell me if you don´t agree with some things I wrote! I´m sure there´s a lot because step by step I found out that s.sth. I assumed in the beginning of my journey are not true - so I´m sure there´re more things I didn´t understand or interprete in a wrong way!

I’m soooooooooo happy to be back home!

Now finally I’m 100% looking forward to settle down, look for a job and just to enjoy my life in that different way - who would have thought - in my BARCELONAAAAAAA of course! Of course I’ll spend the next weeks and Christmas time in Germany with my family and friends!

Thank you so much for your comments and the high number of emails - it was so important to stay in touch with my family and friends during while travelling in India!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



21st December 2008

Glad you are back
Nina guapa, te espero en Barcelona, gracias por las recetas de la India, tenemos que prepararlas juntas, besos

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb