Winter Wonderland in Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Weinstadt
January 5th 2015
Published: January 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Singapore - Hamburg - Stuttgart - Weinstadt - Tübingen - Meiningen - and back


Winter WonderlandWinter WonderlandWinter Wonderland

... in my mum's garden. Some 10 cm of snow fell within only a few hours.
On 20th December I flew to Germany to spend the Christmas holidays with my family and friends. Mizzi welcomed me in Hamburg before she flew to Spain for Christmas and I flew to Stuttgart. I had two great weeks there. It was wonderful to have some more time with my mum, but also to see my uncles, aunts, and cousins in Tübingen, whom I had not seen for a year. Of course, as always in my family, we had a lot of food. Very good food, of course, including traditional Swabian dishes like Kässpätzle! Also I saw my good old friend Marie and met her little daughter who was born in August (her second child, but I still remember going on holiday with her when the two of us had only just acquired our driving license, still in school; guess I am getting old 😉). And, as every year, I met a few people I went to school with, and as always it was great to see that everyone was well and happy.

On 27th December it started snowing and within no time there was a winter wonderland. The weather was perfect for long walks in the snow, so we
Snow in the forestSnow in the forestSnow in the forest

On our way to a restaurant up on a hill.
went outside every day and I enjoyed being out there in the cold, fresh air.

New Year I spent with my friend Christiane in Meiningen, Thuringia, a very nice little city in a very rural area. It was great to see Christiane because I had not seen her for one and a half years. We cooked a very tasty vegan dinner. Towards midnight we climbed up a hill, on small footpaths out there in the dark and snow, not exactly knowing which way to go (usually when Christiane and I go for walks it is a little adventure). Eventually we arrived at a nice spot that would have offered a perfect view of the fireworks – would there not have been thick fog in the air. So we enjoyed the sound of the fireworks while looking at the big sparklers Christiane had bought and sipping mulled wine. A nice start of the year, not exactly what we had planned, but hey, we made the best out of it.

Last Saturday I flew back to Hamburg and Mizzi and I spent a great Sunday together. Today I went to our German office to say hello to everyone and my
Snow in the vineyardsSnow in the vineyardsSnow in the vineyards

View from the mountain above the village my mum lives in.
team there gave me the warmest welcome I can think of. Thank you awesome team! Now I am sitting at the airport in Frankfurt waiting for my flight back to Singapore.

Happy New Year everyone, have a wonderful year 2015!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SnowmanSnowman
Snowman

... in our village.
Kässpätzle and KartoffelsalatKässpätzle and Kartoffelsalat
Kässpätzle and Kartoffelsalat

Traditional Swabian noodles with cheese, served with potato and green salad. Yum!
Meiningen IMeiningen I
Meiningen I

Historic house.
Meiningen IIMeiningen II
Meiningen II

One of Christiane's favourite bars.
Binnenalster on SundayBinnenalster on Sunday
Binnenalster on Sunday

The smaller of the two lakes in Hamburg, the Binnenalster, on Sunday. The Christmas tree is still there. Beautiful weather!
Weisser Zauber in Hamburg on SundayWeisser Zauber in Hamburg on Sunday
Weisser Zauber in Hamburg on Sunday

Part of one of the Christmas markets in Hamburg (in fact it is not called Christmas market, but White Magic) was still on on Sunday.


7th January 2015
Snowman

Winter wonderland
Cute

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 35; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb