Recovering - AGAIN


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Weinstadt
August 22nd 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lago d'Iseo 1Lago d'Iseo 1Lago d'Iseo 1

picture by Tullio
I don't have much to tell you at the moment. Just wanted to let you know that I'm getting better and better. I'm still on crutches and will be for another week. Then, I'll have an appointment in my hospital again and see how well the leg healed.

I was discharged from hospital four weeks ago. The leg was really sore and kept me awake for many nights during my first two weeks at home. Painkillers didn't help. But the last two weeks were okay. It is still sore, but a lot better now.

I go to physiotherapy three times a week and to manual lymphatic drainage twice a week. The latter is really nice, it is supposed to reduce the swelling in the leg, and it is a very soft massage. I have to see my doctor once a week as she needs to check my blood. That's important because I have to give myself an injection with some medicine against thrombosis every day.

By the beginning of this week, the wounds in my leg had finally closed, so I could start swimming again. To me, it's a true punishment to have to sit around all day,
Lago d'Iseo 2Lago d'Iseo 2Lago d'Iseo 2

picture by Tullio
so it's really great that I can do some exercise again. I went three times this week, and I felt sooo good afterwards.

As I can't drive a car myself, my mum has to take me to all the appointments. She's doing such a great job, and I'm deeply grateful. Especially as my mood hadn't been the best during the last couple of weeks. Family and friends look after me very well, invite me, come to see me, or call me. And fortunately, there is plenty of work to do that distracts me from the fact that I can't do much at the moment.

That's all the news I have so far. Here is something more enjoyable than the news I have for you: My friend Rebi, who is a paraglider pilot and started hanggliding with Corinna in April, did her first flights off Tegelberg. Here is a nice video of one of her launches off the north ramp:
. And as I don't have any pictures for you today, I'll post a couple of photos that Tullio Gervasoni, who is a hanggliding instructor and lives not far from Lago d'Iseo, Italy, sent me last year.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lago d'Iseo 3Lago d'Iseo 3
Lago d'Iseo 3

picture by Tullio
Lago d'Iseo 4Lago d'Iseo 4
Lago d'Iseo 4

picture by Tullio
Lago d'Iseo 5Lago d'Iseo 5
Lago d'Iseo 5

picture by Tullio


Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 28; qc: 136; dbt: 0.2013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb