Slippin' and slidin'


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Ulm
December 19th 2007
Published: December 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

EskimoEskimoEskimo

so... very... cold...
So... Back in Ulm... where it just kept getting colder and colder.

On Sunday, Doris and Hugo (Christine's parents) came up from Oberstaufen to visit the Weihnachtsmarkts. I don't think that we had ventured outside all day, so come 3pm when we left the house... Ho-ly craaaaaa-puh! it was so cold. so very cold!


I think it was about -6 degrees. I have never been that cold... and it was so windy! Walking around at the markets I stopped feeling everything, and then I regained feeling in my feet, but only if you can call searing pain beyond anything else simply a feeling.


When we wandering into the heated city centre I slipped off my shoes to let my feet defrost (coz my shoes were still frozen solid) which I think freaked out Doris 😊


And the cold has stayed... Each morning I walk over a foot bridge that crosses many train lines, and since there's been so much rain, there are always puddles which you have to avoid, only this week, thee have been no puddles, only mini ice-skating rinks. Kids skid across them, I totally avoid them (especially the large yellowish chunky
wtfwtfwtf

There are all these fairy tale paintings up around the walls of the markets - but this one... well... you can make of that what you will...
one that is clearly chunder-iffic... but, you know, that's just me...).


I leave the house looking like an eskimo and feeling only just warm enough... with my scarf around my whole head, or my skivvy pulled high (oh yeah - 'skivvies are back' - hehe) people look at me like I'm weird... I feel like stopping them and saying - it is you who are weird! You're not even wearing a beanie - freak!


But I rarely bother to actually do that...


I did however get another invite along to Oz It Up on Free FM Radio with Rosie... It was very cool, we played horrible Christmas music and talked about what we do in Australia in the heat. Then Warren joined us for a beer and we wandered home a little drunk, but not feeling the cold quite so much...





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

For SeanFor Sean
For Sean

Grafitti in the underpass... they actually cleaned the walls like THE day after I took this... freaky timing
Frozen iceFrozen ice
Frozen ice

a chunk of ice! formed on a freaking vine!! Right above a GUSHING Blau!!! So very cool!!!!
Oz it UpOz it Up
Oz it Up

You're on the air with Rosie!!
Free RadioFree Radio
Free Radio

very cool curtains, very cool studio, I love it!


27th December 2007

yo
this blog needs a comment! you look sexxxay in the blau pic
27th December 2007

Just have to leave a comment since noone else has yet... well everyone has been rather busy. Gosh i am glad it's not me over there in that cold place! I don't think I would survive! Eddie wants to visit at Christmas sometime, Derek says that's his favourite time too, but i think I'll stick to warm places!! thanks Susan for sharing your holiday with us, and doing such entertaining blog entries:)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb