First Week in Germany


Advertisement
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, I am in Germany and have been here for a week. I never have met so many people from so many different countries and different cultures. Not only have I been learning German grammar here, but also learning about different cultures. The Goethe Institute should be considered a world culture importing institute. There are 150 students here that come from 45 different countries. That is pretty amazing to me. My floor consist of six people: two people from USA, myself and Ann, my roommate Alex is from Romania, Lijla is from Ukraine, Svetlana is from Russia, and Pelle is from Sweden. Ann says hi. Here at the Goethe Institute we have breakfast from 7 A.M. to 8:15 A.M. then class is from 8:15 A.M. to 12:45 P.M. and then lunch is from 12:45 to 2 P.M. Dinner is on our own and I have grown to like cooking for myself and sometimes for others. More about my class, I am in in a class where most of the students can speak German, but need help with grammar and that would be me. The institute does a good job arranging things to do for students outside of class. Every Friday we get together and play some sport after class and at night there is a party. Also the institute arranges trips to surrounding cities to go to really cheap or free. Last Saturday a group of us went to visit the Mercedes-Benz museum which is in Stuttgart. I found it very interesting and learned lots about history of the car and other random history facts. After that we got two hours of free time to roam around Stuttgart. Lilja and I found this part full of different bears. Each bear was designed differently, some had writing on them others had pictures painted on them to represent the country where the bear was from. The U.S.A. bear looked like the Statue of Liberty. I will include pictures of them soon and everything will be clear. I will add some more info about my stay in Schwabisch Hall tomorrow.

Advertisement



4th August 2008

Sehr Toll!
Sounds like you're having tons of fun. :) And how awesome - meeting tons of people from everywhere! So jealous... Bis spater, meine kleine Ente. hehehehe

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb